On 1 April 1823, Raffles called for a meeting to consider setting up a Malayan college, a process which included transferring the Malaccan Anglo-Chinese College to Singapore. The proposal was supported by Robert Morrison (Dr), a founder of the Malaccan Anglo-Chinese College and a noted missionary and educationist. The resulting birth of the Singapore Institution also led to a call for a library and museum as "a means of diffusing knowledge" to both the Chinese and Malay students equally. On 8 April 1823, the Singapore Institution obtained its first lease for land along Victoria Street (then known as Rochore Street) and Bras Basah Road (then known as College Street).

 


 

The Rendel Constitution came into force on 8 April 1955. Under this constitution, Singapore’s main legislative body, the Legislative Council, became the 32-member Legislative Assembly consisting of three ex-officios, four nominated members and 25 popularly elected representatives. In addition, the political party with a majority of seats in the Legislative Assembly would form a council of ministers. The constitution also allowed for a system of automatic registration that increased the electorate to around 300,000.

 

(Source: http://eresources.nlb.gov.sg/infopedia/articles/
SIP_549_2004-12-28.html)

 


 

Yang di-Pertuan Negara Yusof bin Ishak opening the new extension of Paya Lebar Airport on 8 April 1961 at the beginning of an air show.

 


 

Yio Chu Kang Primary School was built under the Government's Ten Year plan during the colonial period. It began as a single block of 14 classrooms with a Principal's Office and a Staff Room. It was opened in October 1950 with Mrs S B Belleti as its first Principal. It started with 11 classes. In 1952, Mr Leow Kim Fatt took over as Principal of the school. The number of classes gradually increased to 26, functioning in 2 sessions. With the retirement of Mr. Leow in 1967, Mr. Tan Hooi Khoon was appointed Principal of the school. During his term of office, an extension consisting of a four storey block and a staff room including a canteen cum assembly hall was completed by the Public Works Department in October 1968 at a cost of $230, 000. The extension was officially declared open by the Member of Parliament for Ponggol, Mr. Ng Kah Ting on 8 April 1969.

 


 


Screen grab - 2016

 

The driving force behind the Swiss Life’s foundation was the lawyer Conrad Widmer (1818-1903), who was born in Altnau in the Canton of Thurgau and worked in Frauenfeld. He headed the company as first director for approximately 35 years, until 1892. Swiss Life opened its Singapore office on 8 April 2008.