Officially opened on 7 April 1929, the Church of St. Teresa is the first rural church in Singapore. Built in 1928 and completed in April 1929, the land on which the Church stood on was purchased in November 1925 by Father Emile Mariette. The building is a reflection of the French Missionaries’ contributions in Singapore, as the French Mission sold their coconut estate in Changi to raise the building fund of $26,000. The church is located at 2 Bukit Purmei, Singapore 099865.



Replacing the previous Department of Education, the Ministry of Education (MOE) was established in 1955 by Singapore’s newly elected Labour Front government headed by David Marshall. Chew Swee Kee was appointed the first minister for education, and was sworn in with the rest of the cabinet on 7 April 1955.



The Board of Commissioners of Currency, Singapore (BCCS) was established on 7 April 1967 by the enactment of the Currency Act, 1967. It has the sole right to issue currency notes and coins in Singapore. BCCS has issued four series of currency notes. All currency notes and coins issued by BCCS are legal tender. Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) took over the currency issuance function following the merger with the Board of Commissioners of Currency, Singapore in October 2002.



The above building was designed by colonial engineer John Frederick Adolphus McNair, who was also the superintendent of convicts. Convict labour was employed to construct the building. It was originally designated to be the new Court House, but upon its completion in 1867, various government departments moved in and occupied the building, such as the Government Secretariat, the Public Works and Medical departments, Treasury and Stamp Office. As a result, the building came to be known as the Government Office. Three major extensions were added in 1880, 1908 and 1920, though the overall look remained faithful to McNair’s original design. The building was renamed Empress Place Building in 1907 when the Municipal Council renamed the adjacent pedestrian space in honour of Queen Victoria who had died in 1901. The building continued to be used by various government offices after Singapore attained self-government in 1959. These included the Immigration Department, the Registry of Births and Deaths, and the Singapore Citizenship Registry. In the late 1980s, the offices moved out when the Empress Place Building was earmarked for restoration and conservation. After a 14-month renovation, the building reopened on 7 April 1989 as an art museum called the Empress Place Museum. Its first exhibition was on the furniture and artefacts of the Qing dynasty. The Empress Place Museum, however, failed to attract the following that it needed to stay afloat. After six years of operation, it closed in 1995. The National Heritage Board then took over the building to make it part of the Asian Civilisation Museum. In 1998, the Public Works Department began to restore and extend the building. The Empress Place Building reopened as the second wing of the Asian Civilisation Museum on 1 March 2003. The first wing was located on Armenian Street, though this was closed in 2005.