By the end of 1863, the cemetery was full once more. A new site at Bukit Timah was identified, but construction delays meant that Fort Canning cemetery was left open until 31 March 1865. The last burial at the cemetery was that of Marie Dominica Scott in December 1868, probably because her parents were also interred there.

 


 

On 31 March 1962, Singapore's postal services released a series of 7 fish stamps to highlight the diversity of the native ichthyological fauna of Singapore. 4 of the species were from estuarine or freshwater habitats.

 


 

After the war, Royal Air Force (RAF) Seletar served as the RAF's main logistics, maintenance and training base in the Far East. RAF Seletar saw a wide variety of RAF aircraft types coming through its 'gates' for either repair or for its transport and helicopter squadrons. A number of its units and their aircraft were detached to take part in operations during the Malayan Emergency, the Korean War and 'Konfrontasi'. Some of the most famous British planes in WW2 like the Spitfire, the Mosquito and the Sunderland also made their last flights from Seletar. With the decision to withdraw British forces from Singapore, arrangements were made to transfer RAF Seletar in stages to the Singapore Government. The first step was the transfer of the Armed Forces Flying Training School in June 1968. On 31 March 1971, RAF Seletar was officially transferred to the Singapore Government.

 


 

The Maintenance of Religious Harmony Act was passed by Parliament in November 1990 with the aim of maintaining religious harmony and ensuring that religion is not exploited for any political or subversive purpose in Singapore. The Act also provides for the establishment of a Presidential Council for Religious Harmony. On 31 March 1992, the Maintenance of Religious Harmony Act came into effect.

 


 

 

Gay World was one of three amusement parks built in Singapore before World War II and around which Singapore's nightlife revolved from the 1920s to the '60s. The other two were New World and Great World. Gay World, located between Mountbatten and Geylang roads, was set up in 1936. The founder was George Lee Geok Eng (of George Lee Motors fame), and the park was originally known as Happy World when it started. Happy World catered especially to families with children. It was renamed Gay World in 1966. Gay World was a popular entertainment joint before the advent of television and shopping malls. It combined a heady mix of eastern and western forms of entertainment including cabaret, operas, movies, gaming, sport matches, stunts and shopping. Ravaged by fires many times, Eng Wah Organisation terminated the lease to the park in 2000, marking Gay World's exit from Singapore's amusement park scene. Land Office, owner of the 3.2-hectare site gave notice to 150 tenants of Gay World to vacate the premises by 31 March 2000.