Built in 1872, Clyde Terrace Market was situated on Beach Road near the junction with Rochore Road. It was one of the two largest public markets in the 1960s in Singapore. The other was Ellenborough Market. The Hokkiens also knew it as thi pa sat khauor, and the Cantonese as thit pa-sat hau, and the Malays as Pasar Besi, all of which means Iron Market named after its ironwork. The market was also popularly known as the Beach Road Market. It was demolished in 1983 to make way for the Gateway twin towers that now stand on its site. The corner-stone of the market, laid on 29 March 1873, was given Masonic honours by the Singapore Freemasonry.

 


 

Singapore General Hospital officially opened by then Governor of the Straits Settlements, Sir Lawrence Nunns Guillemard, on 29 March 1926 with the opening of 800 beds in the Bowyer, Stanley and Norris Blocks. Today, only the Bowyer Block with its historically distinctive clock tower remains. The Bowyer Block is now home to the Singapore General Hospital Museum (SGH Museum).

 


 

Singapore’s first United Nations (UN) peacekeeping force to Namibia was a 21-strong police contingent led by then Acting Superintendant of the Police Task Force II, Lee Kong Leong. Singapore’s involvement in the peacekeeping mission, which was to oversee Namibia’s transition to independence, was in response to an urgent call for help from then UN General-Secretary Javier Perez de Cuellar on 29 March 1989.

 


 

On 29 March 2005, an 8.7-magnitude temblor in the Indian Ocean caused strong tremors that were felt by people in many areas of Singapore and affected over 200 buildings.

 


 

The Jubilee Bridge, which was opened to the public on 29 March 2015. The bridge is part of a trail that highlights Singapore's history, and was built to celebrate Singapore's Golden Jubilee in 2015.

 


 

 

Bugis Junction is an integrated development located at Victoria Street, Middle Road and North Bridge Road in Bugis. The development consists of a shopping mall, an office tower and the InterContinental Singapore Hotel. Construction began in April 1993. The development was completed in 1995. The mall also has a glass covered shopping streets which is the first in the country. Anchor tenants include BHG which was formerly known as Seiyu. It previously used to house a Shaw Theatres cinema at level 4, but due to declining patronage and poor business, it was permanently closed down on 29 March 2016.