Peirce Reservoir was commissioned on 26 March 1912 by his Excellency Sir Arthur Young and was known then as the Kallang River Reservoir. This waterwork, together with Woodleigh, took 10 years to construct and upon completion, provided 9 million gallons of water daily. It was renamed as Peirce Reservoir in 1922 after Robert Peirce, the Municipal Engineer from 1901 to 1916. In 1975, it was again renamed as Lower Peirce Reservoir, after the new Upper Peirce Reservoir Park was constructed.

 


 

 

Borden Company (Pte) Ltd, a Singapore grown pharmaceutical manufacturing company since 1960, produces the well-known Eagle Brand Medicated Oil, which has become synonymously known as the “green oil”. Eagle Brand medicated oil was formulated in 1935 by a German chemist, Wilhelm Hauffmann, for J Lea & Co, a trading house owned by the late Tan Jim Lay. In 1960s, the late Tan Jim Lay got together a few of his business associates to join his company as shareholders in order to strengthen the capital base and fortify the management of the business. Borden Co., Pte Ltd was officially incorporated on the 26 March 1960 to take over the business of J Lea & Co including the Eagle Brand trade mark and the proprietary rights acquired from Wilhelm Hauffmann & Company. Borden Company began manufacturing and packaging its products at its first facilities located at River Valley in Singapore. Subsequently, the factory was relocated to its present premises at Jalan Kilang in the early 1970s. Today a street Tan Quee Lan Street near Beach Road was named after his namesake.

 


 

The Merlion logo had been designed by Fraser Brunner, a member of the Souvenir Committee and the curator of Van Kleef Aquarium. It became the emblem of the Singapore Tourism Board (STB) on 26 March 1964 and its registration as a trademark was finalised two years later on 20 July 1966. Although by 1997, STB had acquired a new corporate logo, the Merlion is still protected under the STB Act and the use of the Merlion symbol requires permission from STB.

 


 

On 26 March 1991, Singapore Airlines Flight 117 was hijacked in flight by four male passengers from Pakistan. The aircraft landed at Singapore. After their demands were not met, the hijackers threatened to begin killing hostages; before their deadline expired, commandos stormed the plane, killing the hijackers and freeing all hostages unhurt. This was the first happening of A310.

 

(Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Singapore_
Airlines_Flight_117)

 


 

 

The Singapore Gas Company was formed in 1861 as permission was obtained from the Municipal Commissioners to provide gas lighting for the Town. In 1862, the Kallang Gas Works was built to supply the first piped gas in Singapore to enable street lighting. Gas production continued uninterruptedly for 137 years at the Kallang Gasworks except for short breaks during the world wars. It opened to the public for the first time on 26 March 1998 before it would finally be demolished.

 


 

Singapore’s oldest government building, the Old Parliament House, was refurbished at a cost of S$15.8 million into a multidisciplinary arts and heritage centre – The Arts House – after three years of renovation. It was officially opened by World War II heroine Elizabeth Choy on 26 March 2004. The Arts House aims to nurture local arts talents, and be the platform for the discovery and development of the next generation of Singapore artistes.

 

(Source: http://eresources.nlb.gov.sg/history/events/
39c23dc2-b6b6-416e-814b-ba558864bce5)