The Tanglin Barracks housed its first full battalion- the 80th Regiment of Foot (Staffordshire Volunteers)- when it arrived on 17 March 1872. Subsequently, it accommodated 26 officers and 661 men of the sole infantry battalion in Singapore, two artillery batteries, a company of Royal Engineers, and some Sikh soldiers from the Chine Gun Lascars by 1893.

 


 

The first batch of Singaporean men to be called up for NS received their registration reminders – in the form of pink cards – on 17 March 1967. These men were required to register for NS at any of the four registration centres located at Kallang Camp, and the district offices in Katong, Serangoon and Bukit Panjang. Full-time students in government and government-aided schools were not required to register at these centres as they would be registered by their schools.

 

(Source: http://eresources.nlb.gov.sg/history/events/
debf50d7-d81a-4b31-9c0d-65dd932aab8c)

 


 

 

The Maxwell Road Food Centre, which had went through a major renovation, did not complete on time for the hawkers to move in by 17 March 2001 as scheduled. This is because the contractor for this project is facing some problem and is unable to meet the deadline.