Dr Sun Yat Sen arrived in Singapore on 13 March 1906 with Mr Tan Chor Lam, Mr Teo Eng hock and Mr Lim Nee Soon, along with nine others to set up the Nanyang Branch of the Chinese Revolutionary Alliance at Wan Qing Yuan. In July 1910, Dr Sun arrived in Singapore for the eigth time. In mid-August, at the Chinese United Library, Dr Sun commented that women in Singapore were not participating in the revolutionary movements, as they had little opportunity to be educated. Deeply inspired, Mr Tan Chor Lam, Mr Teo Eng Hock and the members of the chinese Revolutionary Alliance planned to set up the Singapore Nanyang Girls' School. The difficulties that they had experienced earlier with lending financial support to the revolution did not stop them from the idea of setting up a girls' school. The school was finally establised in 1917.

 


 

The former Beach Road military camp is located opposite Raffles Hotel, along Beach Road. It began as the headquarters of the Singapore Volunteer Corps (SVC) in the 1930s and later doubled up as the headquarters of the Singapore Military Forces (SMF), which was set up in 1954. It also served as the main registration centre for national service recruits called up under the new conscription policy and as a training camp for the national servicemen. The passing-out parade of the first batch of 400 national servicemen was held here on 15 December 1954. Singapore's first infantry regiment made up of professional regulars was officially born at the SVC drill hall, for this was where the first 22 privates of the 1st Battalion, Singapore Infantry Regiment were sworn in on 13 March 1957. After Singapore became an independent nation, some of the country's first military units were based here. The camp was closed in 2000 and its three buildings (blocks 1, 9 and 14) were gazetted for conservation in 2002.

 


 

 

On 13 March 1962, a nine-man commission, chaired by then acting vice-chancellor of the University of Singapore (now National University of Singapore), Lim Tay Boh, was appointed to study the government’s education policy, its content and administration in all fields except vocational and technical education, and make recommendations.

 


 

The Serangoon new town was developed by HDB in the early 1980s, whereby a new interechange in Serangoon Ctrl would be built and completed at the end of 1987, expected date. But then on 13 March 1988 - the big move of the Serangoon Garden Services to Serangoon Int was the new chapter of housing its services at the new Serangoon Int, and 217 join in the big move. Before the interchange opens, there was a roadside terminus along sernagoon ave 3, which houses services 312 and 315.

 



Raffles Institution is home to the 60th Singapore Boys’ Brigade. Since its inauguration on 13 March 1991, RIBB has grown from strength to strength through the years. Though still young as a BB unit, RIBB has already attained high standing within the BB movement in Singapore. Indeed, it has done remarkably well with its solid record of having won the JM Fraser Gold Award since 1999. In the same period, it has also produced many Founder’s Men, the highest award for a BB boy in the Senior Programme. The Bagpipe Band, which was formed in 2004, captured the first Runners-up title at the Pipes and Drums Festival after three years of establishing itself in the area of bagpipe music! Since then, the Bagpipe Band has performed at many public and school functions.

 


 

Another significant milestone achieved by the Singapore Zoo was the opening of the S$3.6-million Wildlife Healthcare and Research Centre on 13 March 2006. The centre has a viewing gallery for visitors to observe the animal surgery and treatment areas as well as interactive displays to educate visitors on the work of zoo vets.