The Singapore Harbour Board Staff Association (SHBSA), currently known as Singapore Port Workers' Union, was Singapore's first union to be officially registered under the Trade Unions Ordinance in October 1946. On 11 March 1957, change in constitution to allow SHBSA to represent all port workers and to enable transfer of Singapore Harbour Board Workers' Union members to the Association later.

 



Self-government for Singapore in 1959 gave 1 SIR the opportunity to mount the Istana Guards in place of the Gurkhas. A key milestone was a parade to introduce the change of the Battalion Cap Badge which was held on 11 March 1961 at Ulu Pandan Camp. The Old Regimental Badge (with the colonial emblem of a lion standing on a tower) was replaced by the present one with the State Coat of Arms and the motto: ‘Yang Pertama dan Utama’ (First and Foremost).

 


 

The Apex Club of Tanglin was inaugurated on 18 February 1975 and chartered on 11 March 1976.

 


 

On 11 March 2000, Mayflower Primary School moved to a brand new school at 200 Ang Mo Kio Avenue 5. Mayflower Primary School was established on 2 January 1979 with 56 classes, 77 teachers and 2,395 pupils. It was then located at 20 Ang Mo Kio Avenue 3 and named after the old Mayflower Estate that once stood there.

 

(Source: http://www.mayflowerpri.moe.edu.sg/about-us/school-history)

 


 

 

The tunnels and cannon at Labrador Park were officially launched by Mr Mah Bow Tan, Minister for National Development on 11 March 2005.