On 4 March 1844, the trustees of the Singapore Institution Free School (renamed Raffles Institution in 1868) decided to set up a girls’ department. The main objective of the department was to shelter local girls from a life of servitude and vice. This aim was similar to the other girls’ schools of the time such as St Margaret’s Girls’ School, which was founded in 1842.

 

(Source: http://eresources.nlb.gov.sg/history/events/

00c1c0ff-39bc-43e6-b187-dd21fd918578)

 


 

On 4 March 1856, Bishop Daniel Wilson of Calcutta laid the foundation stone of the present St Andrew’s Cathedral building. The building was designed by Colonel Macpherson, to whose memory a cross was erected which stands on the South lawn of the Cathedral compound. The window over the West Door also commemorates this designer who, though unqualified, produced such a fine and dignified building. The building operations were in the hands of Captain McNair of the Royal Artillery. He was in charge of the convict labour and the supply of materials. The use of convict labour for the building of a Cathedral is often a subject of comment. In fact much building in Singapore at this time was carried out in this way.

 


 

On 4 March 1961, Mount Alvernia Hospital was officially opened with 60 beds. In 1969, the building of an extension of Mount Alvernia Hospital was made possible through the generous donation by the late Mr Khoo Teck Puat. The beds in this block catered for chronically ill patients. 17 years later, in 1986, the Khoo block started accepting respite patients and the building then became known as Assisi Home. Assisi Home derived its name from the birthplace of Saint Francis, the Founder of the Franciscan Movement.

 



The Jurong Country Club Limited, the Company was incorporated in the Republic of Singapore on 4 March 1974 as a private limited company, and was converted to a public limited company on 5 August 1993, whereupon it assumed its present name.

 


 

 

The Singapore Turf Club (STC), renowned for its horse-racing, is the oldest existing club in Singapore. It was founded by Scottish merchant William Henry Macleod Read and began as the Singapore Sporting Club (at today Farrer Park) on 4 October 1842. In 1924, the Singapore Turf Club (STC) got its name to reflect its racing activities. The new course at Bukit Timah was opened on 15 April 1933. Amazingly, it was only in 1960 that members of the public were allowed to attend races which, before then, were restricted to members and owners. Work began on the new 81.2 ha Kranji course in 1996. The S$5 million race course was opened on 4 March 2000 by the President of the Republic of Singapore, S. R. Nathan with the S$3 million SIA International Cup as its opening race.