A famous businessman, William Henry Read, a Scotsman who came to Singapore in 1841. When he came to Singapore, his residence was at Battery Road, then to Beach Road, and then to the old nutmeg estate, which is now the location of the Istana. In the almost 46 years of his life in Singapore, Treasurer of the first Singapore public library and Honorary Police Magistrate, among others. On 28 February 1887, laid the first cylinder for Read Bridge (at Clarke Quay along Singapore River) and retired and returned to England in this year. Read Bridge and Read Street are named after him.

 


 

On 28 February, 1942, some 300-400 Chinese civilians were killed along the Punggol foreshore by hojo kempei (auxiliary military police) firing squads. They were among tens of thousands who lost their lives during the Japanese’ Sook Ching operation to purge suspected anti-Japanese elements within Singapore’s Chinese population between 18 February to 4 March 1942. The victims who perished along the foreshore were among 1,000 Chinese males rounded up following a house-to-house search of the Chinese community living along Upper Serangoon Road by Japanese soldiers.

 


 

The Singapore Free Press, Singapore's second English language newspaper after the Singapore Chronicle, was published for the first time on 1 October 1835. It remained in circulation until 1869, but was revived in 1884. It was bought over by The Straits Times in 1946. On 28 February 1962, it merged with The Malay Mail and The Malay Mail became a national paper.

 


 

A white marble bust of Encik Yusof bin Ishak in suit and tie was presented to him in a ceremony at the Istana Negara (now known as the "Istana") on Monday, 28 February 1966. It was a token of appreciation for Encik Yusof's interest in the Singapore Arts Society, which commissioned the bust. The bust was done by Mr Lim Yew Kuan, a member of the Society. Mr Lim was an appointed sculptor of the first President of the Republic of Singapore and was awarded the Public Service Star in 1980 for his contributions to the local arts scene.

 


 

Pioneer MRT Station & Joo Koon MRT Station

 

MRT's Boon Lay extension began operating from 28 February 2009. The 3.8-kilometre stretch along the East-West Line will consist of two stations - Pioneer and Joo Koon. 

 


 

A few thousand cyclists, joggers and walkers took over the roads in the Civic District and the Central Business District on the first Car-Free Sunday on 28 February 2016. From 7am to 9am, the roads around the Padang – St Andrew's Road, Stamford Road and Connaught Drive – together with Fullerton Road will be fully closed to vehicles, while Shenton Way and Robinson Road will be partially closed. St Andrew's Road and part of Stamford Road will be closed until 12pm while Connaught Drive will remain closed until 7pm.