On 23 February 1886, in conjunction with the shift to the new school building, and with the consent of the Archbishop Primate, Canon Pinto changed the name of the school to St. Anthony’s Boys’ and Girls’ School.

 


 

Tomoyuki Yamashita was the Army Commander of the 25th Army which captured Malaya and Singapore during World War II. For this success, he was nicknamed "Tiger of Malaya". He was hanged at Los Banos camp on 23 February 1945 after being convicted of war crimes.

 


 

 

Kent Ridge Park, formerly known as Pasir Panjang Ridge, was originally a lowland evergreen rainforest. During World War II, it was used as a fortress by the British in the defence of Singapore. After the war, the area was renamed Kent Ridge Park and was officially opened on 23 February 1954 by the Governor of Singapore, Sir John Fearns Nicoll. The name was chosen to commemorate the visit to the park by the Duchess of Kent and her son, the Duke of Kent, on 3 October 1952. A plaque (picture) commemorating the occasion was erected at the junction of Kent Ridge Road and South Buona Vista Road in 1952.

 


 

On 23 February 1970, the Finance Minister, Dr Goh Keng Swee laid the foundation stone and a time capsule buried in Singapore's main sports stadium. The capsule contains coins, newspapers and sports memorabilia could not be located and has sparked a frantic search for it.

 


 

Civics and moral education was introduced on 23 February 1991 to replace religious knowledge lessons in schools. Religious knowledge was made a compulsory subject in schools in January 1984 to instil moral values in students. From 1990, however, this was no longer offered as a compulsory subject, as the Ministry of Education felt that the imparting of religious values should be the responsibility of parents instead of schools. Furthermore, the ministry noted that it was inappropriate for schools to offer this subject, since Singapore is a secular state.

 

(Source: http://eresources.nlb.gov.sg/history/events/
7a63e9a1-c949-41d0-9b6f-d3853d832bb1)