Prior to the construction of the racecourse, gharry pony races were known to be held at the Esplanade as early as 1834 during the first New Year Land Sports. The racecourse was built at the junction of Bukit Timah Road and Serangoon Road, where Farrer Park is today. It covered 50 acres (20 hectares), reaching as far as Buffalo Road. The first race at the racecourse was slated for 19 February 1843 to mark the 24th year of Singapore’s founding, but was rescheduled to 23 and 25 February.

 


 


 

SAFRA Toa Payoh was SAFRA’s first permanent club opened on 19 February 1975 by then Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew. It underwent a series of transformations in the last three decades. In 1984, SAFRA Toa Payoh underwent its first renovation at a cost of $600,000 to refresh its outlook, expand facilities such as its canteen, practice rooms and walkways, as well as computerise certain administrative procedures such as the booking of facilities. The club underwent a second extensive renovation in 1990 which saw the addition of the main building, swimming pool and upgrades to the multi-purpose hall at a cost of another $4 million. Subsequently, in 1996, the current Annex housing a mega gym.

 


 

Nanyang Technological University's Earth Observatory of Singapore (EOS) devoted to studying earth's most serious environmental threats was officially opened on 19 February 2009, by Dr Francis Yeoh, CEO of the National Research Foundation (NRF). The EOS aims to understand and address civilisation's most serious natural hazards – including earthquakes, tsunamis, volcanic eruptions and climate change – with a focus on Southeast Asia, that could potentially save hundreds of thousands of lives. Among the projects that the Observatory will embark on include those that will aid in the forecasting of natural calamities and its novel outreach and education programmes targeting secondary and junior college students.