On 6 February 1819, the Singapore Treaty is signed between Raffles, Sultan Hussein and the Temenggong with Commanders from the accompanying seven ships witnessing the event. The Union Jack is officially raised. This date is recognised as the official founding of Singapore.

 


 

The foundation stone for Singapore’s first civil prison was laid by Captain Charles Edward Faber, in the presence of Governor Colonel William J. Butterworth C.B., a short distance from Outram MRT Station on 6 February 1847, Saturday morning. The prison was officially known as H.M. (Her Majesty’s) Prison, but was probably better known as ‘Outram Prison’ (a.k.a Outram Road Gaol). This is the only large prison facility until Changi Prison was built in 1936. Outram Prison was also the first regular female prison located within the main wings of the prison and was also the first major prison facility to use single cells to enhance security in Singapore. The Prison was once the site for the public execution of prisoners. After more than a hundred years, Pearl's Hill Prison, found to be old and unsuitable, was demolished in 1968.

 


 

The old racecourse at Farrer Park, or the Serangoon Road Race Course built in 1842, hosted grand parades such as the Centenary celebration of Singapore's founding on 6 February 1919. Centenary Day was to commemorate 100 years since Singapore's founding by Stamford Raffles. The Centenary Day saw celebrations held by each ethnic community, including the Arab community, the Chinese community, the Indian community and the Europeans. A special Centenary Day celebration committee was set up, headed by W. Peel, the Municipal Commissioner then.

 


 

The Singapore Gun Club at Rifle Range Road was started in the early 1950s. It first operated from a tiny zinc-roofed wooden shed of about four square metres! Before the Japanese occupation of Singapore, British forces used the site at the present clubhouse as an ammunition depot. Over the years, World War II grenades, bombs and even pistols have been uncovered from within the shooting range. Mr F.G. London, a senior partner in the architectural firm of Swan & MacLaren, was responsible for the early set-up of the Singapore Gun Club. Construction for a proper clubhouse took six months to complete in the 1972. The Minister for Law and National Development, Mr E.W. Barker, officially opened the Singapore Gun Club on 6 February 1972.