During this period, Singapore was part of the Colony of the Straits Settlements (together with Malacca and Penang) and was administered by the Colonial Office in London. On 4 February 1867, the 1st Legislative Council of the Straits Settlements was set up, replacing the Legislative Council of India. Thereafter, Straits Settlements Acts and Ordinances were enacted to govern Singapore as well as Malacca and Penang.

 


 

The story of Prinsep Street Presbyterian Church began with the life of one man - Rev Benjamin Peach Keasberry. With support from the local residents, Rev Keasberry built the Malay Chapel in 1843 on the site in what was then known as Kampong Bencoolen, and now known as Prinsep Street. Up till 1885, the Malay Chapel was still the legal property of the LMS. Under the leadership of Rev J.A.B. Cook, the English Presbyterian Mission purchased the Malay Chapel from the LMS. Thereafter, the Malay Chapel became the Straits Chinese Church in recognition of its growing ministry to the Straits Chinese population. The Straits Chinese Church underwent rebuilding in 1930. The old chapel was demolished and the foundation stone for the new building was laid by Song Ong Siang, who later became the first Straits Chinese to be knighted by the English crown. The sanctuary was completed and dedicated on 4 February 1931. Its architecture was designed by architect C. J. Stephens of Swan and Maclaren. Its most notable features are its deep red bricks and the raised brickwork on the tower and belfry.

 


 


Chingay Parade 2010

 

On 4 February 1973, the first Singapore Chingay parade was held partly as a result of the ban on firecrackers a year earlier in 1972 as a result of fire hazards. This ban was viewed unfavourably despite the safety issues involved. Some people felt that the ban would result in a much dampened festival mood for the Chinese New Year period. To address this issue, the People's Association and the Singapore National Pugilistic Association jointly organised a street parade from Jalan Besar to Outram Park featuring the signature floats, acrobatic acts, lion and dragon dances, stilt walkers, and the like, to bring back some cheer to the general public.

 


 

On 4 February 1996, TIBS (Trans-Island Bus Services) acquired Singapore's first underground bus interchange - Woodlands Regional Interchange. Occupying an area of 36,000 square metres with 16 boarding and alighting berths, the Woodlands Regional Interchange was officially declared opened by Prime Minister Mr Goh Chok Tong on 10 February 1996.