St Andrew's Cathedral, at 11 St Andrew's Road, next to the City Hall MRT station, first service was held on 1 October 1861 and the church building was consecrated on 25 January 1862 by the Right Reverend George E. L. Cotton.

 



Kampong Kapor Methodist Church all began in November 1890, in the downstairs study room of the Deaconess Home in Sophia Room. Upon request, Miss Sophia Blackmore, missionary to Singapore, started a Sunday Malay language worship service. The little group included 25 “native” girls from the mission hostel, boys from Epworth Home and Malay-speaking Christian workers from the neaby Mission Press and the 2 missionaries. On Thursday 25 January 1894, this little group moved to “The Christian Institute” at 155 Middle Road to function as a church. At 7.30pm that evening, 6 full and 16 preparatory members were organised as the first Malay Quarterly Conference chaired by the presiding elder, Rev R W Munson.

 


 


 

Al-Falah Mosque logo was designed by Mr Hj Sanwan Rais, former Chairman and present Vice Chairman of the Mosque. The logo was unveiled during the official opening of Al-Falah Mosque on 25 January 1987 by Dr Ahmad Mattar, the former Minister for Environment and Minister In-Charge of Muslim Affairs.

 



The Public Works Department began accepting tenders for the construction of the 3.7 km phase two of the CTE in April 1986. It was not only touted as the single most expensive road project of Singapore at that time because of the construction of two underground tunnel ways, but was also considered a complicated and difficult road to lay because of its design. Construction of the road commenced on 25 January 1988 and excavation work for the underground tunnels began in June 1988. The government acquired nearly 54,000 sq m of land around the areas of Orchard Road, Cavenagh Road and Clemenceau Avenue for the project, after first earmarking the areas in 1986. The total cost of the phase two of the construction was S$350 million.