The library, being a part of the Singapore Institution, was open to its students and staff. However, for 25 cents a month, any member of public could use the library and borrow books as well. However, following increasing public calls for the library to be open beyond school hours, the Singapore Library was formed and officially opened on 22 January 1845. Invited members of the public could use the library after paying a monthly subscription of $2.50. The Singapore Library was thus Singapore’s first subscription library.

 


 

The Bukit Timah Cemetery was a Christian cemetery that existed from 1865 to 1907, and derived its name for the road along which it was situated. Land for the cemetery had been purchased from the Honourable East India Company on 22 January 1864. The cemetery was consecrated by Bishop McDougall of Sarawak, and the first burial took place on 15 April 1865.

 


 

The Singapore Declaration of Commonwealth Principles was a declaration issued by the assembled Heads of Government of the Commonwealth of Nations, setting out the core political values that would form the main part of the Commonwealth's membership criteria. The Declaration was issued in Singapore on 22 January 1971 at the conclusion of the first Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM). Along with the Harare Declaration, issued in 1991, it is considered one of the two most important documents to the Commonwealth's uncodified constitution.

 


 


 

By 1911, the church began to be called the “Baba Malay Church” as the congregation was made up predominantly of Straits Chinese who spoke Peranakan, a patois of Chinese and Malay. Later, to avoid confusion with the Baba Presbyterian Church in Prinsep Street, it became known simply as the Middle Road Church (155 Middle Road). The church remained at the Middle Street building for about 36 years until it was sold to tycoon Eu Tong Sen and moved to its new building at Kampong Kapor. The Middle Street building changed hands a number of times before becoming Sculpture Square, an exhibition centre for contemporary three-dimensional art, in 1999. The National Heritage Board declared the building a historic site on 22 January 2000.