The SMMWU (The Singapore Manual & Mercantile Worker's Union) was formed on 18 January 1959 by a group of seven industrial and clerical workers who had broken away from the pro-communist Singapore General Employees Union (SGEU). The Union was registered on 11 February 1959 with only 300 members in three branches, viz; the Singapore Glass Factory, Malayan Stevedoring and Malayan Electro Plating Company. T. Vincent Gomez became the first Secretary General of the Union.



The National Theatre was a public theatre used for performances, concerts and conferences that was situated at the corner of Clemenceau Avenue and River Valley Road. A bill to form a body known as the National Theatre Trust was passed on 16 November 1960. The board was tasked with administering the theatre so as to stimulate the growth and appreciation of the arts and thereby foster a Malayan culture and identity among the people. It also took over management of the National Theatre Fund, which had until then been held by the government in trust for the public. On 18 January 1961, the Minister for Culture appointed the Board of Trustees for the National Theatre Trust. The board comprised chairman Lee Khoon Choy, who was then parliamentary secretary to the Ministry of Culture, as well as members Zubir Said, K. P. Bhaskar, Liu Hsue Ying, Ng Aik Huan, Wee Kim Wee, P. Abisheganaden, Liao Sung-Yang, Liew Yung Ho, Othman Wok, and the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Culture.



In 1965, the Public Works Department (PWD) issued a statement that the graves on state land in Bukit Brown Cemetery, about 237 tombs, were to be exhumed to make way for the realignment of Lornie Road, off Adam Road. On 18 January 1965, these tombs were exhumed for interment at the Choa Chu Kang Cemetery. A notice by the PWD, published in The Straits Times on 25 March 1965, provided the names of the deceased, the number of the corresponding grave plots, previous addresses and burial dates.



On 18 January 1970, President Yusof bin Ishak laid the memorial's foundation stone along Collyer Quay Street outside the Fullerton Hotel in 1970, on what was supposed to be a temporary site. The foundation stone consists of a rectangular granite stone topping off a pyramid-shaped brick pedestal with inscriptions in the four official languages (English, Malay, Mandarin, and Tamil): This foundation stone of the monument in tribute to the early founders of Singapore was laid by Inche Yusof Bin Ishak, the President of the Republic of Singapore on the 18th day of January 1970. In 2000, the memorial was relocated to the National Archives of Singapore at Canning Rise before moving back to the grounds of The Fullerton Hotel in 2010.



Network for Electronic Transfers (NETS) was officially launched island-wide on 18 January 1986, enabling some 1.3 million ATM card holders to make transactions through 195 NETS terminals located at 84 retail outlets in departmental stores, supermarkets, petrol stations, government departments and restaurants.



On 18 January 2007, StarHub became the first operator in Southeast Asia to offer a commercial high definition television service.




The Land Transport Gallery was officially opened by Mr Raymond Lim, Minister for Transport & Second Minister for Foreign Affairs on 18 January 2008.



Soft opening of Waterway Point on 18 January 2016, one-stop retail and lifestyle hub along a picturesque Punggol waterway.