The Straits Chinese Recreation Club (SCRC) began activities at the end of 1884, and was mentioned by the Straits Times of 14 January 1885, as a Club for the purpose of playing lawn tennis, cricket, and the practicing of English athletic sports. Other outdoor sports included football and hockey, and indoor activities like chess and billiards.

 


 

Arab Street was a spine for transportation in the "Arab Kampong" or "Muslim Quarter" drawn up in Sir Stamford Raffles' Town Plan of 1822. By 1824, Arab Street was laid. The area saw residents who were Malays or other Muslims comprising Arabs, Indians, Bugis, Boyanese and Javanese. Arab Street served as the "town centre" and became the main shopping street and trading centre of activities in this Muslim quarter. Several fires have gutted Arab Street since the early days, and a great fire of 14 January 1889, caused much damage.

 


 

The Raffles Library and Museum reopened to the Singapore public on 1 December 1945 after three and a half years of Japanese Occupation. Junior Library was reopened on 14 January 1946. In the post-war years between 1945 and 1960, the library went through changes of administrations, separation from the Raffles Museum, and shifted to a new library building.

 


 

 

On 14 January 1957, Queenstown Secondary Technical School was completed and officially opened at Strathmore Avenue. The pupils and staff at Tanjong Katong Secondary Technical School, who had chosen to move to Queenstown, occupied the new buildings, consisting of three main blocks. Such technical schools assumed great importance with the industrialisation programme in the 1960s, when they trained skilled technicians and engineers to meet the industries' demands. The school which started as an all-boys school became a co-education school from 1971 in response to changing needs. It was renamed Queenstown Secondary School in 1993 as the school had evolved to offer both academic and technical education.

 


 

Mdm Halimah Yacob was elected Speaker of the Singapore Parliament on 14 January 2013.

 


 

St Joseph Catholic Church located at 143 Victoria Street, Singapore 188020, was officially gazetted as a National Monument on 14 January 2005 by the Singapore Government. Constructed during 1904-1912. The building was built in traditional Gothic church style by the Portuguese Mission for Eurasian Catholics. It is the first Eurasian Catholic Church in Singapore.

 


 

The Church of Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary, Upper Serangoon Road, was also gazetted on 14 January 2005. Constructed in 1901. It is the oldest Catholic Church for the Teochew community in Serangoon.