Tenders were called for the construction of a three-storey building (Telok Ayer Church, picture). The French firm of Bross and Mogin made the lowest tender fee of $46,000, a sum that excluded foundation work and the architect's fee. The architectural firm that designed the building was Swan and Maclaren. On 19 January 1924, the foundation stone was laid by Bishop George Harvey Bickley. Work started and the building was ready in December 1924. On 11 January 1925, the Telok Ayer Church was consecrated by Methodist Bishop Titus Lowe.



On the 11 January 1959, the Church of Saint Francis Xavier was consecrated and officially named after St Francis Xavier (the patron saint of missionaries) with the Rev Fr Rene Challet and Fr Henry Saussard being its first priests.


Singapore Association of Occupational Therapists (SAOT) was formed on 11 January 1975.