Week 41: 07 Oct to 13 Oct

7 October

The concerned Colonial Government, looking at the development of co-operative societies in the West and their experiences, decided to study the feasibility of establishing organisations which allowed members to fund their personal credit with their own money. The Singapore Government Staff Credit Co-operative Society Limited - the very first thrift and loan society to be registered, was born on 7 October 1925, the Society is open for membership to all staff who are employed in the Civil Services, Statutory Boards and in Government Owned Companies.

Formed in 1988, Action for AIDS (AfA) is a voluntary community based organization and a registered charity since 7 October 1994. We are also a registered IPC under the Ministry of Health from 15 December 2004. Their objectives are to provide support and assistance to persons living with HIV and AIDS (PWAs); to increase awareness, education and understanding of AIDS and HIV infection; to combat discrimination and stigmatisation of (PWAs) and their loved ones; and to encourage AIDS-related research activities in Singapore.

Standard Chartered has a history of 155 years in Singapore, opening its first branch here in 1859 and in October 1999 was among the first international banks to receive a Qualifying Full Bank (QFB) license, an endorsement of the Group's long-standing commitment to its businesses in the country. The Bank transferred its Singapore Retail and SME business to a locally-incorporated subsidiary, Standard Chartered Bank (Singapore) Limited ("SCBSL") on 7 October 2013. After the transfer, all banking services offered to retail and SME clients, particularly deposit taking, wealth management services, overdrafts, personal loans, credit cards, auto financing, and mortgages, are offered by SCBSL.

 

8 October

In 1965, the REPUBLIC OF SINGAPORE YACHT CLUB ("RSYC") had to leave its Trafalgar Street clubhouse to make way for the new PSA container terminal. The Club reclaimed five acres of mangrove swamp along the Sungei Pandan and built a new clubhouse with the help of the British Army. Meanwhile, Singapore became a Republic in August 1965, and the RSYC adapted itself to the new political situation. President Yusof bin Ishak graciously accepted the Club's invitation to attend the official opening of the new clubhouse on 8 October 1966. In January 1967, the RSYC changed the "Royal" in its name to "Republic." In the same year, President Yusof bin Ishak honoured the RSYC by becoming the Club's first Singaporean Patron.

Singapore left the Federation of Malaysia and became an independent and sovereign nation on 9 August 1965. The Barisan Sosialis boycotted the first session of parliament to protest against the PAP’s alleged “undemocratic ways” as they did not want to provide “legal cover” for Singapore’s “phoney independence”. On 8 October 1966, the Barisan Sosialis announced the resignation of all its nine members of parliament, leaving the PAP with a monopoly in parliament.

DSAS stands for Direct Selling Association of Singapore. It is a trade association and was founded by a small number of legitimate and reputable direct selling companies. DSAS was gazetted on 8 October 1976. It was formed specifically to represent the interest of legitimate direct selling companies operating in Singapore. It serves as a platform for member companies to meet regularly and to discuss matters of mutual interest as well as to interact with other similar organisations in other countries.

The former Custom House (today Maxwell Chambers) and the former Traffic Police Headquarters building contributed greatly to Maxwell Road’s historical charm and appeal. Both were gazetted as conservation buildings by the Urban Redevelopment Authority on 2 April 2007. The National Heritage Board also acknowledged Custom House’s architectural and historical significance, and designated it as Singapore’s 88th historic site on 8 October 2010.

Relive the days spent by Dr Sun Yat Sen at the Sun Yat Sen Nanyang Memorial Hall (SYSNMH), as the revamped museum re-opens after a year of redevelopment on 8 October 2011. It was closed in October 2010 for extensive redevelopment. It now has five new galleries, original artefacts never displayed before, creative multi-media displays and a new storyline that focuses on Singapore and Nanyang's role in Dr Sun's activities and the impact on Singapore.

 

9 October

The building and construction of Mujahidin Mosque started in the early 1970s. Mujahidin Mosque was the second satellite mosque to be built financed by the Mosque Building Fund (MBF). The whole construction was completed by 9 October 1977. Funds collected for the building of the mosque was recorded at $225,000.00.

The Singapore Airlines Flying Club was officially launched at a ceremony held in the SIA hangar at Singapore Changi Airport on 9 October 1987 by the then Managing Director of Singapore Airlines, Dr Cheong Choong Kong.

Built by Swan and Maclaren in 1936, it was then the tallest building in Chinatown and was known as Nam Tin Building, owned by Lum Chang Holdings. The building housed the six-storey Great Southern Hotel (the first Chinese hotel with a lift), along with a few shops and cabarets that were popular among Chinese travellers. In 1994, Lum Chang Holdings sold the building to Hong Kong businessman Yu Kwok Chun, who converted it to the first Yue Hwa Chinese Products department store in Singapore, and was renamed Yue Hwa Building. The department store was opened on 9 October 1996.

The Compulsory Education Act to make primary school education compulsory for all children in Singapore was passed by Parliament on 9 October 2000 and came into effect on 1 January 2003.

 

10 October

Raffles returned to Singapore on 10 October 1822, three years later. He found a partner who shared his passion for botany, Dr. Nathaniel Wallich. Wallich was a Dane by birth and travelled tremendously in Asia and wrote numerous publications on plants. He proposed to Raffles in letter dated 2 November 1822 to establish a "Botanic and Experimental Garden"..."in the neighbourhood of the European Town". In agreement, Raffles asked Wallich to choose a suitable site, which might include the Government Garden on the slopes Fort Canning where the nutmeg and clove trees had already been planted in 1819. By 20 Novemeber 1822, the proposal has bloomed into the first Botanic Garden occupying 48 acres of land dedicated to the cultivation of tropical spices and produce, the laboratory of possible large-scale spice ventures in Singapore. The site of the garden "extended from the Masonic Hall, past the old Fort Canning Cemetery, to the neighbourhood Y.M.C.A. building, thence to Dhoby ghaut, along Bras Basah Road to the Roman Catholic Cathedral, recurving by Vicotria Street and Hill Street to Armenian Church and the Masonic Hall.

On 10 October 1919, Singapore was informed of the identity of its new governor, Laurence Nunns Guillemard, via telegram from London. Guillemard arrived on 3 February the following year to assume his post, taking over the leadership of the Straits Settlements and Malaya from Arthur Henderson Young who had retired in August 1919.

On 10 October 1943, the Japanese Kempeitai, or secret police, arrested more than 130 locals in Singapore - the Double Tenth incident. This was carried out after seven Japanese ships were sunk in Keppel Harbour. The Japanese soldiers suspected that the sabotage was an inside job.

Operation Rimau was an Allied operation undertaken by commandos of Z Special Unit during WWII. Its mission was similar to Operation Jaywick that was carried out successfully a year before in September 1943. The new operation was tasked to destroy Japanese shipping in the Singapore Harbour by commandos attaching limpet mines to enemy ships. The attack was scheduled for the night of 10 October 1944. However, unfortunately the operation did not meet with the same success as Jaywick.

Coney Island is also known as Pulau Serangoon. After years of gestation and a 15-month construction, Coney Island Park, which spans 50 ha, was officially opened on 10 October 2015.

 

11 October

Construction of the Esplanade began in 1998 and was completed in October 2002 at a cost of S$600 million, fully financed by Singapore Pools and the Singapore Totalisator Board. The Esplanade’s Concert Hall was inaugurated by the Singapore Symphony Orchestra on 11 October 2002.

The Academy of Medicine, Singapore, moved to larger premises at the National Kidney Foundation Singapore, Kim Keat Road, on 11 October 2008. The new premises on the 11th and 12th floors of the building have twice the total area which provides a more conducive working environment for staff and additional facilities for members as well as Colleges and Chapters.

On 11 October 2012, Singapore media reported that the country's 76,000 civil servants would be allowed to contribute to the Our Singapore Conversation with the lifting of a long-standing gag order preventing public servants from speaking publicly on government policies, although they are still not allowed to talk "about their current work or policies they worked on."

 

12 October

The Raffles Library and Museum building was opened on 12 October 1887, in the Jubilee year of Queen Victoria. Officiating the ceremony was outgoing Governor Sir Frederick Weld, who delayed his departure to attend the opening.

Under the guidance of the Hokkien Huay Kuan, Ai Tong School was the second school established by the association and it opened on 12 October 1912. At that time, the school's curriculum was based on the fundamentals Chinese values similar to China's education system.

Esplanade – Theatres on the Bay (also known as The Esplanade Theatres, or simply The Esplanade) was officially opened on 12 October 2002, by the then President of Singapore S. R. Nathan.

 

13 October

The Singapore Planning and Urban Research Group (SPUR) was formed around 1964–1965 to discuss issues related to the physical planning and development of Singapore at the time. SPUR registered as a society on 13 October 1966.

The Rice Table Indonesian restaurant was opened on 13 October 1997 at International Building.

The Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) on 13 October 2010 launched the 2010 Heritage Orchids of Singapore Coin Set. This is the final set of coins in the series issued in tribute to the Heritage Orchids of Singapore. Orchids are a significant feature of Singapore’s heritage and the orchid coin series have proven to be very popular with coin collectors.