Week 38: 16 Sep to 22 Sep

16 September

Singapore was admitted to the Federation of Malaysia on 16 September 1963. It became part of Malaysia. Malaysia being a new political entity formed from the merger of the Federation of Malaya with North Borneo, Sarawak and Singapore. This marked the end of a 144-year period of British rule in Singapore, beginning with the founding of modern Singapore by Sir Stamford Raffles in 1819. The union lasted until 9th August 1965, when Singapore became an independent republic.

The Singapore Kennel Club (SKC) was registered with the Registrar of Companies and the Certificate of Incorporation was issued on 16 September 1972.

On 16 November 1989, home-grown technology company Creative Technology launched a sound card for personal computers (PCs) known as Sound Blaster at Comdex ’89, a leading international computer trade show held annually in Las Vegas.

The Substation at Armenian Street is Singapore’s first independent contemporary arts centre. Founded by the late playwright Kuo Pao Kun, The Substation was officially opened by then Minister for Community Development Wong Kan Seng on 16 November 1990. Formerly a PUB substation, the facilities at The Substation include a gallery for visual, performance and sound art, a 120-seat theatre, a dance studio and a restaurant-cum-courtyard popular for its musical performances.

 

17 September

The construction of the Johor-Singapore causeway began in 1919, and it was opened to goods trains on 17 September 1923 and to passenger trains on 1 October 1923. Previously, passengers and goods were transferred at Woodlands to a ferry to Johor Bahru and the connecting train on the peninsula. Tanjong Pagar railway station was completed on 3 May 1932 and officially opened by Sir Cecil Clementi. It was in operation for around 79 years before it ceased operations on 1 July 2011 to be reserved as the Singapore Railway Museum.

The Haemophilia Society of Singapore was first formed and registered on 25 June 1985. It was started by a group consisting of people with haemophilia, parents, health care providers and some interested professionals. It obtained its approval from the Commissioner of Charities on 17 September 1986. The society is an affiliated member of the National Council of Social Services (NCSS) and a member of the World Federation of Haemophilia (WFH).

In the latest poll conducted among business travellers in the United Kingdom and Europe, Singapore Changi Airport is lauded the 'Best Airport in the World' for 20 consecutive years. Changi Airport has held this title since 1988, making it the longest reigning champion in the history of this survey. Business Traveller (United Kingdom/Europe) magazine, which conducted the annual readers' poll, presented the award to Changi at a ceremony in London on 17 September 2007.

 

18 September

On 18 September 1933, Victoria Bridge School moved to Tyrwhitt Road and the school came to be known as Victoria School. School sports activities were given a boost. In the years 1939 and 1940, the school won the Sir Arthur Young Cup in the Inter-School relay event.

The Singapore branch of Bank Negara Malaysia is the second to be set up by Bank Negara Malaysia since its establishment in Kuala Lumpur in January, 1959, the first branch being opened in March, 1961, in Penang. A unit of the Bank with limited banking facilities has been operating in Singapore since 18 September 1963, thr first working day after Malaysia Day, for the purpose of servicing the financial arrangements between the Central Government and the State Government of Singapore under the provisions of the Malaysia Agreement.

Screen grab 2016

On 18 September 1980, the Singapore National Co-operative Federation Ltd (SNCF) was established as the apex organisation for the local Movement.

 

19 September

On 19 September 1844, Captain Charles Edward Faber arrived in Singapore from Madras. He was appointed as the Sheriff and Marshall for the Court of Judicature. He was also a Superintending Engineer. During his stay in Singapore, he constructed a road up to the top of Telok Blangah Hill to establish a Signal Station there. Captain Faber was also the one who designed the gateways of the entrance to the cemetery at Fort Canning (pictured). To commemorate his contributions, Telok Blangah Hill was officially named Mount Faber in July 1845.

The Substation opens its doors on 19 September 1990 with 30 days of theatre and artistic sideshows.

After almost one year, the 128-year-old National Museum of Singapore will re-open its permanent galleries to the public on 19 September 2015.

 

20 September

The foundation stone of the present building which houses the Chinese Chamber of Commerce and Industry was laid by Dato Lee Kong Chian on 15 September 1962 and officially opened by Mr Lee Kuan Yew, the Prime Minister, on 20 September 1964.

On 20 September 1965, a resolution recommending that the General Assembly admit Singapore into the UN was put to a vote in the Security Council.

The case for establishing a central bank in Singapore was raised by then Minister for Finance Goh Keng Swee in his speech to the Economic Society of Singapore on 20 September 1969, leading to the establishment of the Monetary Authority of Singapore.

 

21 September

The Teutonia Club , now the Goodwood Park Hotel, was a venue for high society in the late nineteenth century. The club's original clubhouse was on North Bridge Road but it moved to Blanche House on Mount Elizabeth after only six months. Thirty years later, membership swelled to over a hundred and plans were made to build a bigger clubhouse. The Teutonia Club decided on a hillock on Scotts Road for its new clubhouse. Construction began in 1899. The Teutonia Club was designed by architect R. A. J. Bidwell of Swan and Maclaren in the Queen Anne style, a mix of Dutch, French and English influences that was popular in England in the nineteenth century. Featuring a striking tower, the building included electric lighting installations that were considered advanced for its time. The building was officially opened with a grand ball on 21 September 1900 by Acting Governor of the Straits Settlements Sir James Alexander Swettenham. The Teutonia Club became the centre of German social life in Singapore, hosting stage performances, gatherings and visiting dignitaries such as Prince Adalbert, son of the German Kaiser, in 1903. Good times at the Teutonia Club lasted until World War I. The British government in Singapore classified all Germans as enemy forces and shipped most of them to Australia. The Teutonia Club was then seized under the Custodian of Enemy Property.

Singapore joined and became the 117th member of the United Nations on 21 September 1965.

Official Launching of Infection Control Chapter Singapore took place on Saturday, 21 September 1991 in the Lecture Room of Mount Alvernia Hospital. Ms Susie Kong, the President of SNA (Singapore Nurses Association), opened the event. David Allen, the Infectious Disease Physician form the Singapore General Hospital delivered a talk on the importance/relevance of Infection Control.

 

22 September

Singapore was proclaimed a City of the British Commonwealth by a royal charter on 22 September 1951, pictures above. The charter was issued by King George VI and it noted that the elevation of Singapore from a town to a city would provide the colony with a new set of liberties, privileges and immunities.

Like all other buildings, the Singapore Conference Hall suffered the inevitable wear and tear and underwent retrofitting and renovation works in September 1999. Although the external facet of the building has remained unchanged, thus retaining its significance in history and time, the interior design has changed to have a more modern feel and is better equipped to accommodate most types of events. Reopened two years later on 22 September 2001 at a cost of $14.7 million dollars by then-Deputy Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, it is now home to the Singapore Chinese Orchestra, the national Chinese Orchestra in Singapore. It is the orchestra’s permanent venue for rehearsals and performances. Entrusted with the management of the building, the Singapore Chinese Orchestra hopes to enlarge the Singapore Conference Hall’s role as a venue provider while remaining active in both the political as well as the arts scene.

Singapore and Qatar signed a protocol on 22 September 2009 to incorporate the new internationally agreed Standard for the exchange of information upon request for tax purposes in their standing Agreement for the avoidance of double taxation (DTA).