Week 36: 02 Sep to 08 Sep

2 September

The Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) Bill was passed by parliament on 2 September 1970, and the Monetary Authority of Singapore Act came into force on 26 December that same year. Following the enactment of the act, the MAS commenced operation on 1 January 1971.

The building was previously known as Kaki Bukit Primary School with classes held at its building in Kaki Bukit. When it moved to the current premises at 50 Bedok Reservoir Crescent on 2 September 1984, the school was renamed Bedok West Primary School. Damai Primary School has merged with Bedok West Primary School in January 2015.

On 2 September 1985, Wee Kim Wee was sworn in as Singapore's fourth president after CV Devan Nair resigned on 28 March 1985.

Tuas Naval Base was officially opened by Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong on 2 September 1994. It is situated at the western part of Singapore and covers about 28 hectares of land with more than 2 km of berthing space. Its facilities include a floating dock with a lifting capacity of 600 tons and an Automated Storage and Retrieval Warehouse. It is home to several operational and support units.

 

3 September

When the Japanese surrendered on 15 August 1945, Euphoria broke out and it was the first opportunity for people to enter Sime Road Camp in search of their interned friends or relatives. These included Boy Scouts who cycled up to the camp looking for their Boy Scout Commissioners. On 3 September 1945, internees celebrated their newfound freedom with a simple Church service including a flag-raising ceremony, where the Union Jack was raised. Lady Daisy Thomas, the wife of the Governor, Sir Shenton Thomas presided over the ceremony.

Lieutenant-General Arthur Ernest Percival (pictured) was the British commander who surrendered Singapore to the Japanese on 15 February 1942.  Percival spent the next 3 years as a prisoner-of-war, first at Changi, then in Formosa (Taiwan) and finally in Seian in Manchuria. On 3 September 1945, Percival was called to witness General Yamashita's formal surrender to Major-General Leavey, the Special Representative of Lieutenant-General William D. Styer, Commanding General of the American Forces Western Pacific Area. In 1946, he retired from the army with the honorary rank of Lieutenant-General.

The 1964 race riots were a series of riots that took place in Singapore during two separate periods in July and September between Chinese and Malay groups. The second race riot occurred just two months after the first, on 3 September 1964. This time, a Malay trishaw-rider was found murdered in the Geylang neighbourhood. His attackers were believed to be a group of ethnic Chinese. The race riot ensued in the neighbourhoods of Geylang, Joo Chiat, and Siglap, and the government again imposed a curfew. In this incident, 13 people were killed and 106 people were injured. With the presence of troops and imposition of curfews, these tensions eased after a few days. Nearly 500 people were arrested.

Singapore officially applied to join the UN on 3 September 1965, less than a month after it separated from Malaysia on 9 August 1965. Rajaratnam submitted the application to UN Secretary-General U Thant via cable (The Straits Times, 4 Sep 1965, p. 12). Under the UN Charter at the time, a new member application had to be sponsored by at least two Security Council members and would be successful only after receiving the endorsement of the Security Council as well as a vote of two-thirds of the General Assembly (The Straits Times, 13 Sep 1965, p. 1). When Singapore applied for UN membership, there were 11 members in the Security Council. They comprised of five permanent members (United States, United Kingdom, France, Republic of China and the Soviet Union) and six non-permanent members (Malaysia, Jordan, Ivory Coast, Bolivia, Uruguay and the Netherlands) (The Straits Times, 4 Sep 1965, p. 12).

The Company was incorporated in Singapore on 21 December 1970 under the name of Isetan Emporium (S) Pte Ltd. On 3 September 1981, the name of the Company was changed to Isetan (S) Ltd when it became a public company. It is principally engaged in the trading of general merchandise and the business of operating departmental stores. Isetan was the first Japanese department store in Singapore when it opened in 1972.

On 3 September 2011, the new bus interchange at Serangoon opened. The fully air-conditioned bus interchange, costing about $18.8 million, is directly linked to the Circle Line (CCL) and North East Line (NEL) Serangoon MRT stations via nex. Known as an Integrated Transport Hub (ITH), the new 7,000 square meters facility is the fifth such facility where bus interchanges and MRT stations are seamlessly linked with adjoining commercial developments.

 

4 September

The Singapore Leprosy Relief Association ("SILRA") Home was built through public donations and officially opened on 4 September 1971 by the Late President of Singapore Dr. B. H. Sheares. The Home provides food, lodging, and recreation and healthcare services for ex-leprosy patients. It also teaches the patients some handicraft skills and rehabilitative work. The residents want to be treated as an equal as the normal person among the community.

Located near the trendy Holland Village area, Buona Vista Swimming Complex is one of the oldest Swimming Complex in Singapore, having been in service since 4 September 1976. However, that doesn’t make it inferior to the other Swimming Complexes Swimming lessons of different categories are still held there weekly. School competitions in particular are most frequently seen at the complex. Due to the close proximity it has with various top primary, secondary schools and junior colleges. Facilities include a Competition Pool, a Teaching pool and a wading pool.

Commuters in Punggol and Pasir Ris were greeted by a new face on their morning bus ride on Sunday, 4 September 2016, as Singapore's newest bus operator Go-Ahead Singapore officially began its bus services in the area, nine months after winning the Loyang bus package tender. The company launched 13 bus routes on Sunday morning, starting with service 82, which left Punggol bus interchange at 5.15am. In all, Go-Ahead Singapore will run 25 services from the Punggol and Pasir Ris interchanges, as well as Changi Airport and Changi Village bus terminals. Another 11 services will start on Sep 18. The last service starts in 2017.

 

5 September

The Singapore Medical College Graduates’ Association was inaugurated on 5 September 1923 by a group of graduates of the King Edward VII College of Medicine at a meeting in the Victoria Memorial Hall in Singapore. It was managed by a general committee of 12, representing the Straits Settlements and the Malay States, with Dr Chen Su Lan (who was also a founder member of the original association) elected as its first president. Dr Chen had returned from a visit to the USA, where the significant role the alumni played in the community had left a deep impression on him.

The Raffles Library and Museum was taken over by the Japanese and renamed Syonan Hakubutsu Kan during the Japanese Occupation of Singapore between 15 February 1942 to 12 September 1945. On 2 September 1945, the Japanese army surrendered to the Allied forces on board the USS Missouri. The Union Jack flag was raised at the museum by Chief Clerk, Quan Ah Gun on 5 September 1945, marking the end of Japanese Occupation in Singapore. The Directorship of the library and museum was taken over by Lieutenant-Colonel G Archey of the British Military Administration on 6 September 1945.

The Association of Small and Medium Enterprises (ASME) is a non-governmental, non-profit body founded in 1986 by a group of entrepreneurs to provide an avenue through which “entrepreneurs from diverse industries and services [could] meet and share their knowledge and experience.” The establishment of the ASME was in tandem with the national pro-enterprise drive initiated during Singapore’s “second industrial revolution”. Approval for its formation was given by the government on 5 September 1986.

Mr Mah Bow Tan, Minister for National Development, opened Dairy Farm Nature Park on Saturday 5 September 2009.

 

6 September

The architect of King Edward VII College of Medicine was Major P.H. Keys who also designed Fullerton Building which housed the General Post Office as well as other government departments. The foundation stone of the College building was laid on 6 September 1923 and the new building was officially opened by the Governor, Sir Laurence Nunns Guillemard on 15 February 1926.

In many ways, Terror Camp was an apt name for the Infantry Training Depot in Sembawang (Sembawang Camp). However, the name had nothing to do with the tough training faced by raw recuits. Planned as the British Navy’s fleet shore accommodation, construction of Terror Barracks was completed in 1939. The barracks were commissioned as HMS Sultan II by the survivors of the ill-fated British warships, Prince of Wales and Repulse, that were sunk by Japanese Zero fighters off Kuantan in December 1941. When the Japanese captured Singapore in February 1942, they occupied the camp. Following their defeat by the Allies, the Commander of the Japanese 10th Zone fleet surrendered to CPT H W Briggs of 11th Destroyer Flotilla in the Wardroom (Officers’ Mess) on 6 September 1945.

Majulah Singapura, our Singapore national anthem was composed in the wake of nationalism during 1956-57 and was first performed as a patriotic song by the Singapore Chamber Ensemble at the opening ceremony of the newly-renovated Victoria Theatre on 6 September 1958.

In 1961 the PAP split. The pro-communists left to form the Barisan Sosialis. They took with them many unions. On 6 September 1961 Devan Nair led some like-minded unionists to form the NTUC, aligned with the non-communist PAP. With no office of its own, the NTUC officials and union leaders operated from homes and held meetings at public places such as the library and museum near Fort Canning. In 1964, NTUC set up its first office at 208 Queen Street. In the meantime, piling works for the Trade Union House at Shenton Way commenced in August 1962. Officially opened on 15 October 1965, the Trade Union House at Shenton Way was the headquarters of the NTUC for 35 years until August 2000 when NTUC bought over and shifted its office to the building formerly owned by POSBank at Bras Basah Road. NTUC finally moved into its present home at the NTUC Centre in One Marina Boulevard in February 2004.

 

7 September

A Fire Committee was formed on 20 December 1855 but the first fire brigade was not established until 10 April 1869. Prior to this, fires were attended to by uniformed groups which included the police, sepoys, marine soldiers and even convicts. On 7 September 1869, the Governor Major-General Sir Harry St. George enacted the Fire Ordinance and appointed the Colonial Engineer as Chairman or President of the Fire Commission for Singapore. The first members of this voluntary Fire Brigade included notable estate owners such as W. H. Read, Thomas Scott, R. Macpherson, W. Maxwell and C. Dunlop. Poor organisation under difficult circumstances racked the voluntary Fire Brigade until its demise in 1884. In 1888, the Singapore Fire Brigade was established and with sufficient funding, gained recognition as a fully equipped professional brigade.

The Singapore Malay Guru's Co-operative Thrifts & Loan Society Limited was registered on 7 September 1931 with an assets of S $15,000.00.

On 7 September 1967, Singapore established formal diplomatic relations with Indonesia. It came about a year after Indonesia had officially recognised the sovereignty of Singapore and ended its policy of Konfrontasi (or Confrontation, 1963–1966) with Malaysia. Following Indonesia’s recognition of Singapore as an independent nation in June 1966, Jakarta offered an exchange of diplomatic representatives. However, Singapore requested to put the exchange off until Indonesia and Malaysia had resumed diplomatic ties. Nonetheless, Singapore proceeded to set up a liaison office in Jakarta in December 1966. The office, which was headed by former First Secretary to the Singapore High Commission in Kuala Lumpur Ridzwan Dzafir, was tasked to handle trade matters between Singapore and Indonesia.

 

8 September

As a result of Rev Humphreys' sermon on Whitsunday 1856, a group of laymen formed themselves into a committee for the spreading of the Gospel in the then 37-year old Singapore. They recruited a missionary and this resulted in the arrival of te Rev Edward Sherman Venn in 1861. At that time the private institution at Chin Chew Street was not affiliated to the Anglican Church. The connection took place only on 8 September 1862 when the Anglican Church, because of the work and influence of Rev Venn, adopted it. Thus, St Andrew's School was founded on 8 September 1862.

Opened on 8 September 1955 in River Valley Road, the Van Kleef Aquarium was named after a former Dutch resident, Mr K W B Van Kleef, who bequeathed his estate to Singapore in a will dated 7 July 1900. The Municipal Commission made plans to build the aquarium in 1933, but these were put on hold when the war broke out and only resumed in the 1950s.

On 8 September 1960, Tan Howe Liang became Singapore's first Olympic medalist when he finished second among 35 competitors in the lightweight category in weightlifting at the 1960 games held in Rome, Italy. In the course of over 10 hours of gruelling contest, Tan lifted a total of 380 kg and earned himself the silver medal, as well as a new Olympic record achieved for the clean and jerk by lifting 155 kg. He was outdone only by Victor Bushuev of Russia, who lifted a total of 397.85 kg to clinch the gold medal.

Bugis Junction, opened on 8 September 1995, is managed by a Japanese company, Parco. The old shophouses on Malabar Street, Malay Street and Hylam Street were rebuilt and weatherproofed, and the streets covered with transparent glass domes to make them part of a shopping mall. The whole unit was incorporated into an existing pedestrian shopping mall on Bugis Street which is connected to Bugis MRT by an underpass. Bugis Junction features a hotel, a 15-storey office tower, food outlets, departmental stores and an umpteen number of shops selling all and sundry.

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong speaking at a People's Action Party (PAP) lunchtime rally held at the Promenade area beside UOB Plaza on 8 September 2015.