Week 35: 26 Aug to 01 Sep

26 August

Founded on 26 August 1908 by a Canadian, AH Fair, Great Eastern began with only 15 staff and assets of $70,000 and was shaped by big names, including Lee Kong Chian, Runme Shaw and SQ Wong. Tan Chin Tuan became Chairman in 1969 during which the Company expanded to become the market leader in the region. In November 1999, Great Eastern Holdings Ltd was incorporated and became the holding company of Great Eastern Life. Great Eastern Life Assurance Co Ltd has the distinction of being the oldest and most established life insurance company in Singapore and Malaysia. Additionally, they also operate in China, Indonesia, Vietnam and Brunei.

When Singapore separated from Malaysia on 9 August 1965 and declared independent on the same day, Television Singapura captured this historic moment. As a result of television, the nation became involved in its birth and was moved by the emotions of the event, especially when Prime Minister cried over his anguish at the separation. The station, which had joined Radio Singapura and been renamed Radio Television Singapura (RTS), expanded rapidly. Foundations for a new Television Centre was earlier laid out in November 1964, and on 23 May 1966, Channel 8 begun transmission from the new centre, and Channel 5 on 14 June 1966. A new $3.6 million building at Caldecott Hill that housed the Television Centre was officially opened on 26 August 1966.

Opened on 26 August 1995, the Tanah Merah Ferry Terminal served passengers commuting between Singapore and some Riau islands from 7am to 11pm daily.

 

27 August

Governor Sir Cecil Clementi Smith officially opened the Island Club (now Singapore Island Country Club), complete with an 18-hole course, on 27 August 1932. This was a historical event for Singapore as this was the first club with a multi racial membership in the colony. All the races in Singapore were represented on the Club's committee. It was, essentially, a mixed-club which had no consideration for color or creed – Chinese, Indians, Arabs and Jews all integrated and blended as one at the club.

The Master Printers Association, Singapore was officially launched on 27 August 1937.

The idea for Hair for Hope first came about from a group of volunteers with Children's Cancer Foundation (CCF). Understanding the ordeals that children with cancer are subjected to, 9 volunteers decided to shave their heads as a symbolic gesture to help create awareness for children’s cancer in conjunction with the annual CCF fund-raising event, Tulip Hearts Day 2003. Hair for Hope was officially launched on 27 August 2004 to reach out to members of the public.

 

28 August

The Singapore Glass Manufacturers Co. Ltd. was the sole manufacturer of glass containers in Singapore. Its factory, popularly known as the Singapore Glass Factory, stood on Henderson Road, and was a famous landmark in Bukit Merah for many years, from the late 1940s to the 1970s, before the development of Henderson Industrial Estate. The factory, with a workforce of more than 1,000, provided much needed employment to residents in the surrounding areas including Bukit Merah. However, relations between the Company and its employees had been strained due to several issues such as retrenchment of workers. This culminated in a strike on 28 August 1960 that lasted 73 days before it was settled, and workers returned in batches to the factory on 9 November. The strike was marked by a number of incidents.

On 28 August 1993, Singapore's first Presidential Election was held. Former Deputy Prime Minister and NTUC secretary general Ong Teng Cheong beat ex-accountant general Chua Kim Yeow to become the Republic's first Elected President. After nine days of campaigning, Mr Ong won 57.4 per cent of the total votes cast.

Tenants at 33-year-old Princess Theatre Building are relocating or closing for good as Princess Theatre Building in Bedok to be demolished. The McDonald’s outlet will have its last day of operations on 28 August 2016.

 

29 August

Filipino Association Singapore (FAS) is a non-profit organization that was founded on 29 August 1937. FAS is here to promote And strengthen a spirit of unity and camaraderie among its members; to promote international Understanding and joining of the two cultural streams of Singapore and the Philippines and to Fortify the friendly cooperation of the people of the two nations; to promote goodwill and fellowship Among the members through media of sports, cultural, religious; and to promote the exchange of Cultural programs between Singapore and the Philippines.

Costing a princely S$520,000 then, the River Valley Swimming Complex (pictures) took 18 months to complete. Consisting of one Olympic-sized pool and a wading pool, it was opened to the public on 29 August 1959 by Miss Fong Yin Ching, Assembly Representative at Stamford. The River Valley Swimming Complex was located in a commercial area with shopping centres and offices. As such, it was not optimally utilised as there were few residents in the area. And as more and better pools were built by SSC in the public housing estates, attendance declined steeply and eventually, the complex was closed on 15 April 2003 after more than four decades of existence.

The Agreement Stipulating the Territorial Sea Boundary Lines between Indonesia and the Republic of Singapore in the Strait of Singapore signed by Indonesia and Singapore on 25 May 1973 determines the common territorial sea border as a series of straight lines connecting six coordinate points located in the Straits of Singapore. Indonesia ratified the agreement on 3 December 1973 while Singapore ratified the agreement on 29 August 1974.

 

30 August

On 30 August 1942, all the prisoners were forced to sign a 'no escape' pledge. When they refused, they were made to go without food and shelter for three days. Their own senior officers ordered them to sign the pledge on the understanding it was done under duress.

On 30 August 1945, First Allied troops parachuted into Singapore.

NTUC Dental Care Society Limited (Denticare) was registered on 30 August 1971 as a dental co-operative society. It has been providing dental services for union members and workers at affordable rates for more than 30 years.

 

31 August

On 31 August 1931, Governor Sir Cecil Clementi announced that the government had decided to build a new civil aerodrome in the Kallang Basin area. The former Kallang Airport building is an architectural landmark located at 9 Stadium Link along Nicoll Highway. Kallang Airport, Singapore's first purpose-built civil airport, was opened on 12 June 1937 in the Kallang Basin area. In its early years, Kallang Airport was described as the "finest airport in the British Empire" on account of its superior facilities. During a 1937 stopover, the famous aviator Amelia Earhart called the airport "an aviation miracle of the East".

It moved to Jalan Bukit Merah on 31 August 1984. The school was officially named Zhangde Primary School (Hanyu Pinyin for Chiang Teck) in January in 1985 in recognition of the contributions made by the past principals, teachers, pupils and the School Management Committee. The school population was made up mainly of Pupils from Outram Primary School and Kai Min Primary School, both of which have ceased to function. In 1992, Silat Primary School closed and its pupils joined Zhangde. In 1996, when Keppel Primary School closed its doors, Zhangde absorbed its pupils who have yet to complete their primary education.

The 1961 Water Agreement between Singapore and Johor expires on Wednesday, 31 August 2011, and Singapore's national water agency PUB will hand over the Gunong Pulai Waterworks to the Johor water authorities. In a statement, PUB said that throughout the 50-year tenure of the 1961 Water Agreement, the working relationship between the Johor water authorities and PUB has been good and cordial. A signing ceremony will be held at the Gunong Pulai Waterworks on Wednesday, where PUB will officially hand over the assets to the Johor state govenment. The event will be graced by Sultan Ibrahim Ibni Almarhum Sultan Iskandar, the Sultan of Johor; Singapore's Minister for Environment and Water Resources, Dr Vivian Balakrishnan; and the Chief Minister of Johor, YAB Dato' Haji Abdul Ghani bin Othman. Officials from Singapore and Malaysia will also be present.

 

1 September

On 1 September 1846 marked the occasion of a presentation of a ceremonial sword by the Governor of Straits Settlements, Colonel William John Butterworth to Daeng Ibrahim, Temenggong of Johor in recognition of his services in helping to eliminate piracy in Singapore waters. It was supposingly held at the Government House on Government Hill (later Fort Canning Hill).

On 27 May 1961, the Malayan Prime Minister, Tunku Abdul Rahman, proposed closer political and economic co-operation between the Federation of Malaya, Singapore, Sarawak, North Borneo and Brunei in the form of a merger. The main terms of the merger, agreed on by him and Lee Kuan Yew, were to have central government responsibility for defense, foreign affairs and internal security, but local autonomy in matters pertaining to education and labor. A referendum on the terms of the merger held in Singapore on 1 September 1962 showed the people's overwhelming support for PAP's plan to go ahead with the merger.

Singapore became a member of Malaysia on 1 September 1963.

Three years after Singapore achieved independence on 9th August 1965, the RSAF took flight as the Singapore Air Defence Command (SADC) on 1 September 1968. The SADC grew rapidly to establish defence capabilities and paved the way for the development of the RSAF.

The aim of establishing FTZs in Singapore was to preserve the Republic's entrpot trade by keeping the prices of goods competitive. Free Trade Zones (FTZ) were first established in Singapore on 1 September 1969.

As one of the more ‘senior’ swimming complex in Singapore, Katong Swimming Complex which opened its doors to the public on 1 September 1975 is still a popular place for those who want to attend swimming lessons to go to. Katong Swimming Complex will be more all the more accessible once the new Circle Line opens, putting it within a stone’s throw from namely Old Airport Road MRT and Tanjong Katong MRT. Facilities in Katong Swimming Complex consists of a Competition Pool, a Teaching Pool and a Wading Pool.

The Civil Defence Command was established on 1 September 1981. Full-time national servicemen sent to the Construction Brigade were trained to acquire skills such as the building repair, reconstruction of installations and restoration of essential supplies. Their training was held on Nee Soon Camp.

Lim Kim San was a former politician best known for his contributions to public housing in the 1960s during his term as chairman of the Housing and Development Board (HDB). In 1962, he became the first person to be admitted into the Order of Temasek (Darjah Utama Temasek), in the year it was instituted. Throughout his political career, Lim held various ministerial portfolios including finance, education, defence, communications and the environment. He also chaired the Council of Presidential Advisers as well as boards of various organisations such as the Port of Singapore Authority (PSA), Singapore Press Holdings (he assumed the role of executive chairman on 1 September 1988) and Monetary Authority of Singapore.

On 1 September 1992, the Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore (IRAS) was established by legislation as a statutory board under the Ministry of Finance. With this conversion, IRAS was incorporated by the Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore Act to take over the functions previously performed by the Inland Revenue Department.