Week 30: 22 Jul to 28 Jul

22 July

St Joseph’s Institution (SJI) is Singapore’s oldest Catholic boys’ school. It was founded on 22 July 1852 by Father Jean-Marie Beurel of the Missions Érangères de Paris (The Society of Foreign Missions of Paris).

Officially opened on 22 July 1929, Raffles College was dedicated to “the promotion of arts, science and learning and the provision of higher education for students without distinction of sex, race, nationality or religion.” It was the first institution on higher learning available in Malaya and later merged in 1949 with the King Edward VII School of Medicine to form University of Malaya, a precursor to the National University of Singapore.

The Family Planning Association (FPA) of Singapore was formed on 22 July 1949 to introduce family planning services to the general public.

The Singapore Harbour Board Staff Association (SHBSA), currently known as Singapore Port Workers' Union, was Singapore's first union to be officially registered under the Trade Unions Ordinance in October 1946. With the Port of Singapore as the cornerstone of the Singapore economy, the Association has played a vital role in the economic growth of Singapore. It has come a long way from a fledging union in the immediate post-war years through the turbulent 1950s and early 1960s to become a major partner in Singapore's progress from the 1970s to the present. In 1961, pro-communist members of the PAP split from the party and formed Barisan Sosialis. As a result, the trade unions were split into two camps - the pro-PAP National Trades Union Congress (NTUC), and the pro-Barisan Singapore Association of Trade Unions (SATU). By that time, SHBSA had been deeply infiltrated by the pro-communists and it joined SATU. In 1963, SHBSA Secretary-General Jamit Singh and Treasurer Yeow Fook Yuen were arrested for alleged criminal misappropriation of union funds. On 22 July 1963, SHBSA and several affiliated trade unions were de-registered for breaches of the Trade Unions Ordinance and their respective constitutions. SHBSA was re-registered on 10 January 1964 under a new constitution and became an affiliate of NTUC.

NTUC Fairprice Co-operative Ltd was founded by the labour movement in 1973, with a social mission to moderate the cost of living in Singapore. The first NTUC Welcome supermarket at Toa Payoh was opened by then Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew on 22 July 1973. In 1983, NTUC Welcome merged with the Singapore Employees Co-operative to form NTUC Fairprice Co-operative Ltd.

Two "Lion Monuments" or Merdeka Lions once stood, one at each end of the Merdeka Bridge. When Merdeka Bridge was widened and upgraded in 1966, they were relocated to Stadium Walk, near the entrance of of Kallang Park. In 1987, the Public Works Department handed over the lions to the Ministry of Defence and temporarily placed them at the old Singapore Armed Forces Institute (SAFTI). On 22 July 1995, the lions were installed at their present site, the SAF Military Institute (SAFTI) in Upper Jurong Road.

Suntec City is a major multi-use development located in Marina Centre. Construction began on 18 January 1992 (with earthworks) followed by full completion and opening on 22 July 1997.

 

23 July

The Municipal Building (City Hall building, now part of National Gallery Singapore) was completed and declared open on 23 July 1929.

Indian Bank Singapore Branch commenced operations in Singapore on 23 July 1941. Their niche areas of operations are Trade Financing and Retail Banking, and Indian Rupee Remittances in particular.

Construction of Paya Lebar Airport began in 1952. By mid-1955 the airport was ready for flight trials. The first was conducted on 23 July 1955 with two landings made by a Malayan Airways plane piloted by First Officer Chan Soon Kim.

St. John Headquarters, 2016 - myonlinetour.com

St. John Ambulance Headquarters was officially opened on 23 July 1960 by Yang di-Pertuan Negara of Singapore and later First President of Singapore.

Big Splash was built in 1977 by Singapore Aquatic Sports Pte Ltd (owned by Goldhill Properties) on a 2.8-hectare site in the new East Coast Park. The park opened on 23 July 1977 at 8 a.m. All the pools in the complex were filled with sea water and had a sand bottom to create the impression of a beach. The land lease expires in October 2016, , the site will be returned to the Government for redevelopment, thus bringing the curtain down on one of Singapore's first water theme parks.

 

24 July

Trams were one of the earliest modes of public transport in Singapore but were phased out by end of 1927. The electric tramways opened to the public on 24 July 1905 to little fanfare. There was little public interest as they seemed to be contented with the already established modes of transport then available. Run-ins with bullock carts and rickshaw drivers as well as vandals troubled the electric tram operations. But the growth of the island's commerce provided the impetus for increased hauls, which included passengers though people traffic on the trams increased slowly. The competition from rickshaws was still stiff. The reduction in tram fares increased ridership to 32 000 in 1909, and at the end of that year, the company was in the black with an ultra-modest profit of £134.

Goh Eng Wah is one of the pioneers in Singapore's film industry. During the 1960s, his cinemas became popular for screening the latest Chinese films in Singapore. He also ventured into film production and received several Asian Film Festival awards for films that he financed, such as "Teddy Girls" and "Hiroshima 28". These films were produced in Hong Kong and screened in Singapore. In 1966, he bought Jubilee Theatre (now Jubilee Hall in Raffles Hotel). Two years later, he acquired another cinema located at Tiong Bahru called King's Theatre. On 24 July 1968, Eng Wah Theatres Organization Pte Ltd was incorporated.

On 24 July 1975, the first intake of full-time police NS officers was enlisted.

Formerly named The Singapore Girl Guides Association, the association renamed to its present name, Girl Guides Singapore, on 24 July 2004.

 

25 July

Coleman Street, is part of Singapore city's original town is located in the Downtown Core section within the Central area, and stretches from Armenian Street to St. Andrews Road. It was named after G. D. Coleman, the first architect in Singapore, Overseer of Convicts, and Superintendent of Public Works and topographical surveyor. Coleman left Singapore on 25 July 1841 after having served Singapore for 15 years.

On 25 July 1844, the foundation stone for Tan Tock Seng's Pauper Hospital was laid on Pearl's Hill. The hospital was first called the "Chinese Pauper's Hospital", which was the name engraved on the brass plate commemorating the founding of the hospital. It was later called "Tan Tock Sing Hospital", and it was only in the 1850s when the spelling of the name was officially changed to "Tan Tock Seng".

The National Trades Union Congress (NTUC) was formed on 6 September 1961 following a split in the ruling People's Action Party (PAP) that caused a corresponding split in the labour movement under the Singapore Trades Union Congress (STUC). After the dissolution of the STUC on 25 July 1961, pro-PAP union supporters – led by C. V. Devan Nair and Mahmud Awang – founded the NTUC, while another group of unions who were pro-Barisan Sosialis – the splinter group that broke from the PAP – formed the Singapore Association of Trade Unions (SATU).

On 25 July 1982, Singapore Broadcasting Corporation (SBC) produced its first local drama for SBC 8.

The Tan Tock Seng Hospital Heritage Museum opened its doors on 25 July 2001. Honouring the legacy of its founder Mr Tan Tock Seng, the museum features a collection of Peranakan items from the mid-19th century, during Mr Tan's time.

On 25 July 2015, the Singapore Sports Hub at Kallang was declared officially opened by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong at a ceremony attended by some 53,000 people.

 

26 July

The earliest migrant Ceylon Tamil is still quite illusive to all the members of the community; who is he, where did he come from and when did he come... all this is quite a blur and many dates are thrown about of several known figures in the past history... one of them Singapore Vythalingham (1871). However the Singapore Ceylon Tamils Association is very sure of its own history and can boast of being one of the oldest associations in Singapore. Members gathered together to make it a day to remember... 31st July 2010...the 100th birthday of Singapore Ceylon Tamils Association. It was noted that the Association was formed by 300 Ceylon Tamils in 1909 and finally registered on 26 July 1910.

On 26 July 1957, Governor Robert Black officially opened the Athletic Centre and new cinder track at Farrer Park. The new Farrer Park Stadium cost $200,000 and its first event was the 440 yards hurdles of the Amateur Athletic Association championships. In its heyday in the 1950s and 1960s, the stadium was the hub of the country's track and field. Later, the stadium was leased out to a soccer club, and later it became an exclusive venue for hockey matches.

Singapore's oil refining industry started when the Shell Refining Company (Singapore) Limited opened the island’s first oil refinery at Pulau Bukom on 26 July 1961.

The New Paper is Singapore's second-highest circulating paid English-language newspaper, first launched on 26 July 1988, by Singapore Press Holdings (SPH).

 

27 July

After Indonesia and China announced their decision to resume ties on 8 August 1990, Singapore and China began talks to elevate their relationship to a more formal level. In total, three rounds of talks – the first of which took place on 27 July 1990 – were held between Singapore and China to finalise the details of the establishment of diplomatic ties.

On 27 July 2001, the URA replied, via a letter published in The Straits Times forum page, that reclamation of Chek Jawa would proceed as planned. The URA explained that the land to be reclaimed would be used for military training, which is part of a long-term plan to ensure that Singapore has sufficient land for military training purposes. The URA also cited a study commissioned by the Housing and Development Board which posited that the reclamation would not have any significant impact on the dugong (an endangered mammal that mainly subsists on seagrass) population, because the seagrass in Chek Jawa was found to be patchy and there did not appear to be a resident dugong population. The URA further explained that the area around Chek Jawa did not have established coral reefs nor reef communities, and gave the assurance that NParks would transplant the affected plants to other parts of the island.

The Land Transport Authority announced on 27 July 2007 that approval had been given for the construction of a new 5 km long Marina Coastal Expressway (MCE) at a cost of $2.5 billion. The expressway, which includes Singapore's first undersea tunnel, links the East Coast Parkway and Kallang-Paya Lebar Expressway to Marina South and Ayer Rajah Expressway and opened to traffic 29 December 2013.

 

28 July

The Singapore Malay Chamber of Commerce and Industry (SMCCI) was incorporated on 28 July 1956 under the Companies Act of the Republic of Singapore.

Following the launch of the Healthy Lifestyle campaign, the Healthy Lifestyle logo was unveiled on 28 July 1992 to give the campaign a more defined identity. The logo was designed to look like the letter “H” – formed by the movements of two sporty figures in red, blue, purple and green – to represent “Health”.

The Malay Heritage Foundation was formed on 28 July 1999 to undertake the task of developing a heritage centre for the Malay community, a project subsequently named the Malay Heritage Centre. This idea was suggested in early 1999 by the then Prime Minister, Goh Chok Tong. The project is supported by MITA, in partnership with National Heritage Board. The Malay Heritage Centre (picture) officially opened on 4 June 2005.

A directional change was made to the Singapore Flyer on 28 July 2008 when geomancers pointed out that the flyer was “taking fortune away from Singapore” with the direction of its rotation. The flyer was then reconfigured at a six-figure sum to turn in the opposite direction.