Week 27: 01 Jul to 07 Jul

1 July

On 1 July 1899, Singapore Chinese Girls School opened on Hill Street, with seven Straits Chinese girls. It was the result of the perseverance, courageous spirit and visionary leadership of the pioneers, chief among them Sir Song Ong Siang and Dr Lim Boon Keng.

Citibank first established its operations in Singapore on 1 July 1902. It was then known as the International Banking Corporation (IBC) and was the first American bank to set up a branch in Singapore. Located at 1 Prince Street, IBC was primarily involved in the trade financing of Malayan rubber and tin exports in the early twentieth century.

The Central Provident Fund (CPF) is an important component of Singapore’s social security structure. Introduced in 1953 before coming into effect on 1 July 1955, the CPF is a compulsory savings scheme that requires all employers and employees to contribute a portion of the employee’s monthly gross salary to the provident fund.

A newspaper for the local Malay community, Berita Harian was established on 1 July 1957. It presents news and issues from home, the region and the world, featuring a wide spectrum of topics from sports to politics and religion. Other highlights include Malay culture and tradition, arts and heritage, family, hobbies and leisure.

Legal Aid Bureau was set up on 1 July 1958 as a department under the Ministry of Labour and Welfare. It was housed at the former Ministry of Labour Building at Havelock Road. With that, Singapore became the first country in South East Asia to have a legal aid scheme.

On 1 July 1963, the merger between the Royal Singapore Golf Club and the Royal Island Club proceeded, and the new club was named the Singapore Island Country Club (SICC).  The last evening when the two clubs were to exist as separate entities witnessed two different kind of celebrations at the clubs; merriment at the club at Thomson as members of the Royal Island Club looked forward to new experiences, and gloom at the club at Bukit Timah as members of the Royal Singapore Golf Club lowered the Union Jack and bade farewell to a privileged era.

Immigration Control at Causeway. Passports and travel documents were not required till 1 July 1967 when both Singaporeans and Malaysians had to produce them to enter Singapore. The Singapore Restricted Passport Centre was set up in South Quay. It moved to Outram Road in 1976 and closed its doors on 31 December 1994.

The first SAF day, then known as Armed Forces Day, was held on 1 July 1969 and witnessed a 1,500-strong contingent of servicemen and women in a grand parade finale and march-past at Jalan Besar Stadium. On a day filled with regimentation and pledges of loyalty, the most solemn moment was the presentation of the SAF Flag for the first time to the 3rd Battalion, Singapore Infantry Regiment (SIR).

Changi Airport Terminal 1 began operations on 1 July 1981. It replaced Paya Lebar Airport, which had become overwhelmed by the immense volume of passenger air traffic.

On 1 July 2003, Catholic Welfare Services, Singapore took over the management of St Theresa's Home from the Little Sisters, with the support of the Brothers of Mercy and Infant Jesus Sisters.

It is the first day at the new Woodlands Train Checkpoint on 1 July 2011. The first train bound for Kelantan, Thye Sinaran Timur, left the new Woodlands Train Checkpoint at 5.45am. Meanwhile, the first train to pull in at the checkpoint, the Senandung Sutera from Kuala lumpur, arrived at about 6.40am.

 

2 July

Subhas Chandra Bose (picture) is a noted Indian politician in the fight for India's independence from British rule. Bose arrived in Singapore on 2 July 1943 on the invitation of revolutionary freedom fighter Rash Bihari Bose. He was appointed President of the Indian Independence League and took on the mantle of Rash Bihari Bose as leader of the Indian Independence League in East Asia.  On 21 October 1943, Subhas Chandra Bose proclaimed the formation of the Provisional Government of Free India at the Cathay Cinema Hall.  Two days later, he declared war on Britain and the United States.  With help from the Japanese, he reorganised and rejuvenated the Azad Hind Fauj (also called the Indian National Army).  He lobbied aggressively for funds in Malaya and other parts of Southeast Asia and launched a recruitment drive for the Azad Hind Fauj.  Tapping into the widespread discontent of Indian army personnel in Malaya, especially over the way British officers had abandoned them during their retreat from Singapore, he was able to draw many British Indian troops to join the Azad Hind Fauj.  On 14 April 1944, he led the Azad Hind Fauj on an offensive against the British in India; and crossing the Burmese border, he planted the Indian National tricolour flag at Moirang, Manipur . It was a symbol of claiming Indian soil from the British. However, the offensive failed to take Kohima and Imphal and retreated to Burma. The campaign was considered a failure so Bose left for Singapore via Bangkok on 24 April 1944.

The Hokkien Foundation is a company limited by guarantee incorporated in Singapore on 2 July 1977. It is an Institution of a Public Character. The principal activities of the Foundation are the provision for relief of human suffering and fostering education of all kinds.

On 2 July 2014, the Monetary Authority of Singapore announced that it would stop printing $10,000 notes starting from 1 October 2014, to reduce the risk of money laundering.

 

3 July

The Medical School in Singapore was founded on 3 July 1905 with an enrolment of 23 students; the Medical School was founded as "The Straits and Federated Malay States Government Medical School". In 1913 its name was changed to "King Edward VII Medical School, Singapore". Its direct descendant is The Faculty of Medicine, National University of Singapore (NUS).

Singapore Technical Analysts & Traders Society (STATS) was founded on 3 July 1985. With over 25 years of history, we are a society of close knit, passionate, professional technicians dedicated to the search for financial excellence in trading and investing. We have been making very accurate forecasts since our inception in 1985 and we will continue to maintain and keep up with this amazing tradition that is our unique brand.

Cavenagh Bridge is named after William Orfeur Cavenagh, the last governor of the Straits Settlements (1859–67) under British India control. The bridge construction started in 1867 and was completed in 1869. It is the oldest bridge across the Singapore River. It was the last major work of the Indian convicts and now serves as a footbridge. In 1987, Cavenagh Bridge underwent a five-month refurbishment carried out by the Public Works Department to preserve and strengthen its structure. The restoration work cost a total of S$1.2 million and the bridge was reopened on 3 July 1987.

The introduction of Distance Fares on 3 July 2010 will bring about a more integrated fare structure that will allow commuters to make transfers during their journey without being penalised. This provides commuters with more choices and greater flexibility in planning and deciding on the travel option that suits them best. This may depend on alternative routes available and how each commuter weighs the value of travel time, cost savings and convenience.

 

4 July

Chulia Street used to be called Kling Street, which was regarded as derogatory leading to the street being renamed Chulia Street, after the Chulias who migrated to Singapore from Southern India. On 1 August 1921, The Straits Times carried a notice from the Municipal Office advertising that "from January 1, 1922, the name of the street extending from Raffles Square to South and North canal Roads at present known as Kling Street will be changed to Chulia Street". The notice was issued by the Municipal Office on 4 July 1921.

Park Mall was retrofitted in 1991 by Wingain Investment Pte Ltd and opening ceremony officiated by Mr S Dhanabalan, Minister for National Development on 4 July 1992. The above 15-storey building opened in 1971 was then known as Supreme House, its anchor tenant was department store Metro. The first change of owners for the mall came when Supreme Holdings sold the building to Wing Tai Holdings for $168 million in 1989. Wing Tai renamed it Park Mall. In 2005, Suntec Reit acquired Park Mall from Wing Tai for $230 million. December 2015, a joint venture acquired Park Mall for $411.8 million. The 45-year-old mall will be demolished and redevelped, Park Mall to shut at end of September 2016.

Singapore Chinese Girls’ School (SCGS) opened on Hill Street, with seven Straits Chinese girls on 1 July 1899. Conditions became cramped and the government stepped in to offer another piece of land on the corner of Hill Street and Armenian Street (where the Fire Station now stands). Then the government dropped a bombshell, saying it wanted its land back by 1924. No. 37 Emerald Hill was chosen as the new home. After 70 long and eventful years at Emerald Hill, SCGS made the move to Dunearn Road on 4 July 1994.

Goh Eng Wah is one of the pioneers in Singapore's film industry. He founded Eng Wah Organization, a major film distributor and cinema operator specialising in screening Chinese movies from Hong Kong and Taiwan. In 1945, Goh and a friend started a cinema, the Victory Theatre, in Happy World Amusement Park (later known as Gay World). The cinema became popular with the locals even though it was screening Japanese propaganda flicks. As his cinema business grew, he acquired more theatres. In 1968, he established Eng Wah Theatres Organization Pte Ltd. Eng Wah Organization became a public listed company on 4 July 1994.

 

5 July

Abdul Gafoor Mosque, named after Shaik Abdul Gafoor bin Shaik Hyder, was built in replacement of the nearby Al-Abrar Mosque. Construction of the mosque, a classical architectural piece, began around 1907. Located in Dunlop Street, it is a part of the Little India Conservation District. Gazetted as a national monument on 5 July 1979.

1991 for The Eurasian Association, Singapore, became known as the year of the Eurasian Awakening, when a younger group of Eurasians decided to take the lead to uplift the community. This was a turning point, with membership increasing and new programmes and activities introduced. Most were driven to rekindle that sense of belonging to the community, especially among the younger generation. Since 1994, the Association was accorded by the Government Self-Help status to act on behalf of the Eurasian community in Singapore. Today, their Social Hub is the Eurasian Community House, and this is where the Eurasian Association operates from. The House was officially opened by H.E. President S.R. Nathan on 5 July 2003.

The 117th International Olympic Committee Session was held for the first time in Singapore from 2 to 9 July 2005. The meeting was particularly significant as two important decisions were made through voting during the session – namely the selection of the hosting city for the 2012 Summer Olympics. The session was held at the Raffles City Convention Centre, which is on level 4 of the Raffles City complex. The opening ceremony on 5 July 2005 was held at the Esplanade - Theatres on the Bay.

 

6 July

Telok Ayer Market was constructed in 1890-1894. The building was built on reclaimed land, which was made of cast iron from Glasgow, Scotland. Now fully restored, it is home to many popular local food stalls, which is collectively known as Lau Pa Sat Festival Market. The Sri Mariamman Temple is Singapore's oldest Hindu temple located at 244 South Bridge Road. These two buildings were gazetted on 6 July 1973 as national monuments by the Preservation of Monuments Board.

Jing Shan Primary School was founded in 1945 as Chin San School (originally known as Cheng San School) in Cheng San village. The medium of instruction then was Chinese. The school moved to 502 Cheng San Road in 1955 to make way for the development of Serangoon Gardens Estate. In 1980, with increase in enrolment and the Ministry of Education's policy to rebuild schools which are not structurally suitable, the school had to operate at borrowed premises at Chong Li Primary School, Chong Boon Primary School, Deyi Secondary School and Mayflower Secondary School. On 7 May 1982, it moved to its present location at Ang Mo Kio Street 52, off Ang Mo Kio Avenue 10. The school was officially opened by the Minister of State (Finance) and MP for Cheng San, Mr Lee Yock Suan, on 6 July 1984.

Heart transplant operations were not available in Singapore before 1990. Singapore was only ready for it in early 1990 when the Ministry of Health announced its decision to allow heart and liver transplants in Singapore. A pilot heart transplant programme was already in place at the Singapore General Hospital (SGH) two years before where doctors in the programme had been training and preparing for heart transplant operations. Following the Ministry of Health's announcement, SGH doctors began looking for suitable donors for its heart patients. On 6 July 1990, Wee Soo Hup, 59, a retired information officer at the Ministry of Communications and Information, became the first heart transplant recipient in Singapore.

 

7 July

The Raffles Library and Museum was officially opened by Sir Frederick Weld, Governor of the Straits Settlement on 12 October 1887, at the present Singapore History Museum. The period spanning 1887 to 1942 were the formative years for both the library and museum. R. Hanitsch (Dr) became the first Director of Raffles Library and Museum in September 1908. He retired on 7 July 1919, and was succeeded by Major J.C. Moulton.

Opened on 8 September 1955 in River Valley Road, the Van Kleef Aquarium was named after a former Dutch resident, Mr K W B Van Kleef, who bequeathed his estate to Singapore in a will dated 7 July 1900. The Municipal Commission made plans to build the aquarium in 1933, but these were put on hold when the war broke out and only resumed in the 1950s.

Parliament House (after extensive renovations) was originally built as the residence of John Argyle Maxwell a Java merchant and was bought over by the Government to establish the Court House. In 1954 alterations and renovations were made to convert the building into the Assembly House (the legislature) which was officially opened by the Governor Sir John Nicoll on 7 July 1954. The former Singapore's Parliament House - the symbol of parliamentary democracy, the Rule of Law of the Republic of Singapore. It is the oldest government building in Singapore.

Singapore Polytechnic, Dover Road campus, officially opened by then Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew on 7 July 1979.

On 7 July 1989, the historic district of Kampong Glam bounded by Jalan Sultan, Rochore Canal Road, Arab Street and Beach Road, was gazetted a conservation area. In 1993, the Singapore Government first announced its plans to develop the Istana Kampong Glam since it was located in the 16 ha Kampong Glam Conservation area. Residents were given ample time to make their own housing arrangements. Then on 12 March 1999, it was announced that the Istana would be converted into a "Malay Heritage Centre". A multi-million dollar plan is in the pipeline to redevelop Istana Kampong Glam, one of Singapore's most famous historical landmarks.