Week 26: 24 Jun to 30 Jun

24 June

The first record of Vanda Miss Joaquim was published in an 1893 issue of The Gardeners’ Chronicle, a horticultural journal. In a section titled “New or Noteworthy Plants” dated 24 June 1893, Ridley, director of the Singapore Botanic Gardens, registered Vanda Miss Joaquim as a newly discovered orchid hybrid. On 15 April 1981, the Agnes variety of the Vanda Miss Joaquim was officially launched as Singapore’s national flower.

A state of emergency was declared in Singapore on 24 June 1948, a week after it was declared in the Federation of Malaya following a spate of violence by the Malayan Communist Party (MCP).

24 June 1973 was the first football match, the Sultan's Gold Cup final, between Singapore Malays and Kelantan Malays at the National Stadium.

 

25 June

On 25 June 1959, the government announced the amalgamation of the agriculture, co-operatives, fisheries, rural development and veterinary divisions of the Ministry of National Development to form the Primary Production Department (PPD). The main objective was to ensure that the needs of farmers and fishermen were better served.

The Adelphi Hotel was first established in possibly Commercial Square (Raffles Place) in 1863. The hotel grew and it moved to High Street and then to Coleman Street. During the Japanese Occupation, the Adelphi Hotel was renamed the Nanto Hotel. After serving for 110 years, the Adelphi Hotel closed in 1973.  On the last day, 25 June 1973, the hotel had a grand farewell party at its premises.  The hotel's management made a nice gesture for proceeds from that night went to the Singapore Cheshire Home for the handicapped.  The closing of the three-storey Adelphi Hotel marked the closing of Singapore's oldest hotel.  The historical building was demolished in 1980.  The Adelphi Complex, a less impressive 10-storey hotel-shopping-cum-office block, built in 1985 now stands on the site of the old Adelphi Hotel.

An investment holding company for the Singapore government, Temasek Holdings was incorporated on 25 June 1974 to manage its investments in government-linked companies (GLCs).

 

26 June

The history of The Japanese Cemetery Park goes all the way back to the end of the 19th centuary. A Japanese brother owner, Tagajiro Fukai, donated seven acres of his rubber planation to be used as burial ground for young Japanese women who died in destitution. The British Colonial Government officially granted permission for this use on 26 June 1891. Since then, it was used to bury Japanese residents. During WW2, the cemetery was used to bury Japanese civilians and soliders who lost their lives in the battlefield or to illness. No one has been buried here since 1973 as this cemetery was one of the 42 cemeteries where burials were probihbited by the government. This cemetery park, which is the largest in South East Asia, tells us the history of Japan and Singapore. The Japanese Association, Singapore maintains the Park which is often visited by Japanese students, residents and tourists. The tombstones are neatly laid out harmoniously with its surroundings and the park offers visitors peace and transquility.

The first Asian Youth Games (AYG) was hosted by Singapore over nine days from 29 June to 7 July 2009.
Athletes were housed at the games village, which was officially opened by then Senior Minister of State for Ministry of Education, Grace Fu Hai Yien, on 26 June 2009 at the Swissotel The Stamford.

On 21 February 2013, the Monetary Authority of Singapore announced a new series of coins in denominations 5, 10, 20, 50 cents and 1 dollar, which went into circulation on 26 June 2013, featuring Singapore's national icons and landmarks. The coins are struck on a multi-ply plated steel planchet used by the Royal Canadian Mint and comes with enhanced features to differentiate from fakes. The coins also feature new designs, the one dollar, now a Bi-Metallic coin will feature the Merlion, the fifty cent coin featuring the Port of Singapore, the twenty cent coin will depict the Changi International Airport, the ten-cent coin featuring public housing and the five-cent coin featuring the Esplanade.

 

27 June

Sir Stamford Raffles' Statue, sculpted by Thomas Woolner, is a popular icon of Singapore. The statue depicts Raffles, standing tall, arms folded, with an aura of quiet assurance. It was installed on Jubilee Day on 27 June 1887 at the Padang and relocated to the Empress Place during the Centenary Celebrations on 6 February 1919.

Fullerton Building was built on 1924 and opened on 27 June 1928. Its first occupants were the Singapore General Post Office, the Singapore Club, and other government offices. The General Post Office occupied the first three floors. The post office had a 300-ft curved counter reputed to be the longest in the world. A remarkable feature of the post office is a subterranean passageway underFullerton Road that links it to pier, enabling mails that are transported by ship to be brought directly to the post office. Above the General Post Office is the exclusive Singapore Club, with members including the cream of Singapore society. Today is the Fullerton Hotel.

Lim Bo Seng's wife, Madam Choo Neo, learnt of his death only after Japanese surrendered and travelled to Batu Gajah, Perak to collect the remains of her late husband. A daring brave soul who fought till the bitter end, Major General Lim Bo Seng was buried with military honours at MacRitchie Reservoir. This monument precedes the previous memorial which was built over his grave in MacRitchie Reservoir in 27 June 1952 by the Lim Bo Seng Memorial Committee.

The Singapore Zoological Gardens was founded by the late Dr Ong Swee Law. In the late 1960s, Dr Ong, the then Chairman of the Public Utilities Board (PUB) felt that some of the forested catchment areas adjoining the reservoirs, which came under PUB's purview, should be made more accessible to the public. Eventually, the idea of a zoo arose. With the Government's support of S$9 million and after almost six years of hard work, the Singapore Zoological Gardens finally opened its gates to guests on 27 June 1973.

 

28 June

The Singapore-Johor Causeway is a road and rail link that connects Woodlands at the northern part of Singapore to Johor Bahru at the southern tip of the Malay Peninsula. The Causeway’s official opening ceremony was held in Johor Bahru on 28 June 1924.

Thian Hock Keng, at 158 Telok Ayer Street, is Singapore’s oldest Chinese temple and is recognised as the most important temple of the local Hokkien community. Designed and built by skilled craftsmen from China according to Chinese temple architectural traditions, it was completed in 1842. The temple was gazetted as a national monument on 28 June 1973.

Yueh Hai Ching Temple is one of Singapore's oldest Teochew temples built by Teochew traders and sailors to thank the gods for their safety at sea. Located at 30B Philip Street, Singapore 048696. It was built in 1826 and was gazetted as a national monument on 28 June 1996. It has been maintained by Ngee Ann Kongsi since 1845.

The Singapore Sports Hub is a sports complex located in Kallang, Singapore. It is built on the site of the original National Stadium, for which demolition began on 29 September 2010. Construction on the Singapore Sports Hub began in 2011, with the foundations laid in February 2011. The new National Stadium opened on 28 June 2014.

 

29 June

The Lim Bo Seng Memorial is a dedicated tribute to Lim Bo Seng, who died during the Japanese Occupation period in 1944. He was held captive by the Japanese Secret Police in Ipoh after a spy identified him as a member of the resistance army. The Lim Bo Seng Memorial Committee, comprising representatives from the Chung King Government, was established to raise funds for a memorial. Then British Commissioner General for Southeast Asia, Malcolm MacDonald, laid the foundation stone in 1953 and then Lieutenant-General Sir Charles Loewen, Commander-in-Chief of the Far East Land Forces, unveiled the memorial on 29 June 1954.

There was an interruption of electricity supply to large parts of Singapore at 2200 hrs on 29 June 2004. The areas affected were mainly the Western areas such as Clementi, Choa Chu Kang, Bouna Vista, Jurong, Telok Blangah and Bukit Batok, and some other parts parts of Singapore such as Crawford, Jln Eunos, Aljunied, Bishan, Changi, Mandai, Marina Centre, Serangoon North and Hougang.

Gardens by the Bay (滨海湾花园) is a nature park spanning 101 hectares (250 acres) of reclaimed land. The park consists of three waterfront gardens: Bay South Garden, Bay East Garden and Bay Central Garden. The largest of the gardens is Bay South Garden at 54 hectares (130 acres) and was opened on 29 June 2012.

 

30 June

The first Botanic Garden was started by Stamford Raffles in 1822 on Bukit Larangan, later known as Government Hill (Fort Canning). Raffles instructed Farquhar that a Botanic and Experimental Garden be set up on Government Hill; an area of 48 acres was allotted for this purpose. The Botanic and Experimental Garden was started on the north and north-east slopes of Fort Canning and included the present site of the National Museum, the former National Library location, the Armenian Church and the Anglo-Chinese School, Coleman Street. In August 1819 after Raffles had returned to Bencoolen he sent to Farquhar 125 nutmeg plants, 1,000 nutmeg seeds and 450 clover plants and seeds to be planted in the allotted area. The man Raffles appointed to supervise the Botanic and Experimental Garden was Dr Nathaniel Wallich, a Dane, born in Copenhagen. In Singapore Dr Wallich became a prominent resident. He served on the Land Allotment Committee in 1822. Mount Wallich (named after Dr Wallich) next to the present Ministry of National Development Building was cut down to provide the soil to reclaim what is today Raffles Place (Commercial Square), Cecil Street, Robinson Road and Shenton Way. The Botanic and Experimental Garden, was a failure. It was abandoned after 30 June 1829. The main reason given was that it was not economical. It cost the settlement $60 per month to upkeep it.

The College of Gerneral Practitioners Singapore was officially inaugurated on 30 June 1971, by a group of family physicians in Singapore who wanted an institution to enshrine and promote the values and ideals of family medicine.

Singapore Airlines (SIA) is the national carrier of Singapore. It was incorporated as Mercury Singapore Airlines on 28 January 1972 before it was renamed Singapore Airlines on 30 June 1972.

This National Stadium was officially closed on 30 June 2007 to make way for the new S$1.87 billion Singapore Sports Hub.

A historic chapter closed on 30 June 2011 at the Tanjong Pagar Railway Station. Seven trains, bound for Malaysia, made their final journey from this station. All 91 staff members of the Malayan railway took the last train out at 11 pm. At the stroke of midnight, Singapore took ownership of the station.

The National Stadium is a stadium replacing the old stadium in Kallang, Singapore. It opened on 30 June 2014.