Week 25: 17 Jun to 23 Jun

17 June

With the enthusiasm and energy of Justice Goldney, its first president, and R. N. Bland, its first treasurer, the Singapore Golf Club (or Golf Club, Singapore’s first golf club) was opened on 17 June 1891 by Governor Sir Cecil and Lady Clementi Smith, at the racecourse belonging to the Singapore Sporting Club (founded in 1842). It was located at where Farrer Park is today and stretched down to Buffalo Road. However, the golfers had to share the grounds with the jockeys and the horses. The first 50-acre, 9-hole golf course was a very fair one with excellent hazards by the rails and sundry ditches with broken grounds.

Nan Hwa Girls School established 17 June 1917 at Coleman Street. Relocated to Bencoolen Street in 1921. Relocated to Adis Road in 1941. Closed during the war and reopened in October 1945. Renamed Nan Hwa Girls' High School in 1956. Main school became secondary school and branch school became primary school in 1964. Relocated to 330, Clementi Ave 1 on 12 December 1982. Admitted boys and renamed Nan Hua Secondary School in 1984. Relocated to current site in 2004. Renamed to Nan Hua High School in 2006.

Balestier Plain also witnessed the laying of the Foundation Stone of Singapore Indian Association on 17 June 1950 by Pandit Jawaharlala Nehru, the first Prime Minister of India.

The National Stadium of Singapore opened in 1973 by then Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew. For over three decades, it was used for many major sporting, cultural, entertainment and social events, such as the 1983 and 1993 Southeast Asian (SEA) Games, the second-leg final of the 2004 Tiger Cup, and the concerts of popular artistes like Michael Jackson, Mariah Carey and A*Mei. It was also the venue for 18 National Day Parades. This national icon was closed in June 2007 to make way for the new S$1.87 billion Singapore Sports Hub. 17 Jun 1973 saw the first event held at the stadium, an international hockey friendly between Singapore and Australia.

The National University Hospital (NUH) established in 1985 is Singapore’s only university hospital. It serves as a tertiary hospital as well as a clinical training centre and a research centre for the medical and dental faculties of the National University of Singapore (NUS). NUH was originally known as the Kent Ridge Hospital according to its proposal as early as 1972, NUH received its new staff on 15 January 1985 (on the same day itself, Kent Ridge Hospital was renamed to NUH) and opened to the public and received its first patients on 24 June 1985. The hospital was officially opened on 17 June 1986 by Mr Goh Chok Tong, then First Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Defence.

 

18 June

St. Andrew's Cathedral is an Anglican Cathedral located next to the City Hall MRT station. The foundation stone of the original church was laid on 9 November 1834. The building was designed by George D. Coleman, in his trademark Palladian style, and constructed between 1834 and 1836. It was named after the patron saint of Scotland because initial financial support came from the local Scottish community. The first church service was held on 18 June 1837 and was conducted by the first Chaplain Reverend Edmund White.

The Cathedral of the Good Shepherd, stands at the junction of Queen Street and Bras Basah Road. It is the earliest Catholic church in Singapore and is today the seat of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese and Archbishop. The foundation stone for the Cathedral was laid on 18 June 1843 and construction was completed by 1847.

Located on 88 hectares of land along Upper Jurong Road, the SAFTI Military Institute (SAFTI MI) is arguably the most impressive if not the most imposing structure of all SAF buildings. The MI was then simply known as the 'Singapore Armed Forces Training Institute', or SAFTI was officially opened on 18 June 1966 by then Minister of Defence, Dr Goh Keng Swee. It was the first military training institute to be established by the government to train officers and non-commissioned officers (NCOs or Specialists as they are known today) to lead the then embryonic SAF.

 

19 June

The Republic of Singapore Yacht Club has its origins in 1826 as the Singapore Yacht Club. Mr Maxwell Blake, better known to his many friends in Singapore as “Max” Blake, a commodore of SYC in 1919. In order to qualify as a naval architect, William Maxwell Blake (WMB) had to study engineering. So he moved to Wivenhoe in Colchester. When he qualified, WMB got a job in Singapore where he was naval architect to the firm of Riley Hargreaves. In 1912 WMB was employed by Riley Hargreaves as manager of the shipyard and timber sawmill at Tanjong Rhu, then a remote isthmus on which boats and small craft, both native and European, were built and launched. Shortly after World War I ended, WMB and some other keen sailing friends in 1919 helped to revive the Singapore Yacht Club, based at the shipyard at Tanjong Rhu. WMB died on 19 June 1939 and his funeral was arranged to take place at St Johns church, Felixtowe by the then Rector Cox.

Sri Srinivasa Perumal Temple is one of the oldest Hindu temples in Singapore. The Sri Srinavasa Perumal Temple dates back to 1851, when Hindu community leaders including Arunachala Pillay, Mr Cootaperumal Pillay, Mr Ramasamy Pillay, Mr Appasamy Pillay, Mr Chockalingam Pillay and Mr Ramasamy Jamidar sought to purchase a piece of land from the East India Company for the purpose of worshipping Vishnu. The original temple structure remained unchanged until the early 1950s by which time it was in dire need of a facelift and upgrading works. In 1952, the MHEB decided to rebuild and reinstate the Temple. Redevelopment was only carried out in the early 1960s when well known Indian community leader and philanthropist Mr P. Govindasamy Pillay financed much of the works. Mr Pillay is credited with building the first two storey marriage hall within the temple. It was officially opened by Enche Yusoff Bin Ishak, the first president of Singapore on 19 June 1965.

With effect from 19 June 2002, the Employment Pass Department (EPD) of the Ministry of Manpower, currently located at 10 Kallang Road, SIR Building, #05-B-17/18 will relocate to a new premise at 9 Maxwell Road, #03-01, Annexe A, MND Complex, Singapore 069112.

 

20 June

On 20 June 1891, St Andrew's Cathedral was struck by lightning, but no serious damage was noted.

The graduation ceremony of the first batch of Western Arts (today Nanyang Fine Arts College) students was held on 20 June 1940. Altogether there were four graduates: Tay Long, Lin Yongxin, Zhang Tanlin and Guo Chengcai. During the same year in September, the start of the new term attracted several well known Chinese artists to join the teaching team at the School. They include Huang Bao Fang, Chong Pai Mu and Tchang Ju Chi. Amongst the teachers was Mr See Hiang To who taught at the School for 36 years. He had many good students who later spread his works and teaching in Malaysia and Singapore.

On 20 June 1997, more than 100 firemen battle for 4 hours to control a massive fire which engulfed the Stamford Tyres warehouse in Jurong.

Dhoby Ghaut MRT Station (NS24/NE6/CC1) was originally a station on the North South Line, it became an interchange station after the opening of the North East Line on 20 June 2003. On 17 April 2010, it became the only station to be an interchange between three lines when the Circle Line wing of the station was opened to public. It is the largest MRT station in Singapore and is equipped with travellators due to its size. The station is also one of the 4 MRT stations to appear in the original Singapore edition of the board game Monopoly. Before the station was built, it was tentatively named Istana, after the Istana in the vicinity. Its current name, Dhoby Ghaut, was selected in order to reflect the area's heritage as a traditional Indian laundromat.

On Monday, 20 June 2005, the Supreme Court started operations in the modern and functional new Supreme Court building across the road. The road was renamed from Colombo Court to Supreme Court Lane.

 

21 June

Lee Kuan Yew and Raja met the press at the Singapore airport on 21 June 1963 after thier merger talks with the Tunku in Kuala Lumpur.

The Dermatological Society of Singapore was established at an inaugural meeting held on 21 June 1972 at Brunel Hawes Lecture Theatre, Medical Unit II, Outram Road General Hospital, Singapore. There were 12 founder members present including Drs B Wach, Lawrence Leong, Oon Beng Bee, K Rajagopalan, Khoo Oon Teik, V S Rajan, Goh Yong Siah, Tay Chong Hai, Tulip Tan, George Wong, Lim Chan Yong and Loke Khua Eu. Professor Khoo Oon Teik was the founding President of the society.

As smoky haze from fires in Indonesia shrouded the city state, the Pollutant Standards Index (PSI) hit 401 at 12:00 PM on Friday, 21 June 2013 - the highest in Singapore's history.

 

22 June

Mr. Ong Teng Cheong, Senior Minister of State for Communications, spoke at the opening of Tanjong Pagar Post Office on 22 June 1977. This Post Office is the 61st post office to be established in Singapore. It is also the third new post office to be officially opened in 1977.

Before the mosque was built, muslims in the neighbourhood prayed on the field which is located beside the mosque. Al-Mukminin means a "good person". The mosque, Masjid Al-Mukminin @ 271 Jurong East Street 21, Singapore 609603, was officially opened in 22 June 1987.

Bonsai Garden @ Singapore Chinese Garden was opened on 22 June 1992, the Suzhou-style Bonsai Garden cost an estimated SGD 3.8 million to build. This 5,800 sq metres garden with Suzhou-style buildings (incorporating a main hall of 50 sq metres) and landscape houses a collection of some 1,000 bonsai imported mostly from China. This world-class Bonsai Garden has since taken on a new look after spending an estimate SGD 500,000.

The new Penjuru Terminal will commence its operations on 22 June 2008. This new terminal will replace the existing Pasir Panjang Lighter Wharves (PPLW) which will cease operations on 25 June 2008. Penjuru Terminal will only handle the loading of sea-stores and ships's spares and the discharge of used ships' spares. Loading and discharge of any other cargo is strictly not allowed at this terminal.

 

23 June

To provide sporting facilities for the Eurasian community the first Singapore Recreation Club was in a building in Waterloo Street. The new Clubhouse at one end of the Padang opened on 23 June 1833.

On 23 June 1957, Singapore’s then Chief Minister David Marshall mooted the idea of forming a “political party whose membership is exclusively trade unionists” to protect the welfare and rights of workers in Singapore. A draft constitution of the proposed party, to be called the Workers’ Party (WP), was sent a month later to more than 200 registered trade unions in Singapore. According to a statement by the Army Civil Service Union, whose then president, N. S. N. Nair, had been nominated as convenor for the new party, the WP “will work for the elimination of man’s exploitation of man, for the recognition in practice of the basic equality of all human beings and for equal opportunities for the individual for full and free development within the framework of respect for the rights of all”.

On 23 June 1972, the Port of Singapore Authority opened its first container berth at Tanjong Pagar, making Singapore the first port in Southeast Asia to accommodate third-generation container vessels.