Week 24: 10 Jun to 16 Jun

10 June

In the medical history of Singapore, Major (later Lt-Colonel) William Farquhar to Sir Stamford Raffles, written on 10 June 1819, when he recommended Prendergast’s promotion from Sub-assistant Surgeon to that of Acting Assistant Surgeon.

The Anson by-election was held to fill the Legislative Assembly seat left vacant by the death of People’s Action Party (PAP) assemblyman Baharuddin bin Ariff. Nomination day was set for 10 June 1961 with polling to take place on 15 July. Five candidates – Chee Phui Hung (Singapore Alliance), K. M. Ibrahim (Singapore Congress), Ismail Haji Hussain (Liberal Socialist Party), Mahmud Awang (PAP) and David Marshall (Workers’ Party) – vied for the seat. The by-election saw a split within the PAP as left-wing members withdrew their support for the PAP candidate and backed Marshall, chairman of the Workers' Party, instead.Marshall secured 3,598 votes to win by a narrow margin against M. Awang, who polled 3,052 votes. This was the PAP’s second by-election defeat in less than three months, after having lost in the Hong Lim by-election held earlier on 29 April.

For about a week in early June 1990, Singaporeans were captivated by media reports of runaway elephants on Pulau Tekong. This was the first time that elephants had been known to swim across the Johor Straits onto Tekong in recent history. The island is used by the Singapore Armed Forces for military training. The wild Asian elephants (Elephas maximus) were first sighted by national servicemen on 29 May 1990. With the collaboration and co-operation of the Singapore and Malaysian governments, the Singapore Zoo and Malaysian wildlife authorities and the Tekong army personnel, the bull elephants were captured about a week later on 7 June 1990. By the evening of 9 June 1990, two elephants were loaded onto the two lorries and were taken back to Malaysia. The third elephant was loaded and taken back to Malaysia the next morning on 10 June 1990. The elephants were given new homes in a forest reserve in Johor.

 

11 June

The Fullerton Building (now The Fullerton Hotel) and Fullerton Square sits on land where once stood Fort Fullerton which guarded the mouth of the Singapore River. Serious development of the area began with Captain George Chancellor Collyer's sea wall from Fort Fullerton to Telok Ayer Market, built from 1858 to 1864, and Collyer Quay was named after him. Most of Fort Fullerton was demolished by 11 June 1873. On the site by Cavenagh Bridge and the river, the Exchange Building opened in 1879. The opening of Anderson Bridge in 1910, connected Collyer Quay, and was an alternative access into the heart of town. These developments in the area, may have led to the demolition of the Exchange Building at end 1923, or early 1924, and, a bigger structure was planned to fit into the new environment. In 1925, the "Tan Kim Seng Fountain (1882)" at its original location in Fullerton Square was moved to the Esplanade, while a new building was being constructed.

On 11 June 1877, a total of 22 rubber seedlings from the Kew Gardens in England were sent to the Botanic Gardens in Singapore. Of the 22 seedlings, nine found their way to Kuala Kangsar, Perak, 11 were sown in the Botanic Gardens of Singapore, and the remaining two were probably planted in Malacca. This consignment of 22 seedlings was, however, not the first attempt at propagating rubber in Singapore; in the previous year, all the 50 seedlings that were sent from Kew perished on their journey to Singapore. At the time, rubber was not popular with planters as their money and attention were invested in more profitable crops, particularly tapioca, gambier, pepper, sugar and coffee. Besides, little was known of rubber planting and many planters were reluctant to take the risk of planting a crop that would require about six years to reach maturity.

The Singapore-Johor Causeway is a road and rail link that connects Woodlands at the northern part of Singapore to Johor Bahru at the southern tip of the Malay Peninsula. Opened by then Governor of the Straits Settlements Laurence Nunns Guillemard, the Causeway was built to handle cross-straits traffic, which had been growing rapidly since the Malayan states became major producers of agricultural goods such as rubber, tin and gambier in the late 19th century, while Singapore served as a trading port specialising in the export of these commodities. Despite the construction difficulties, the Causeway was completed on 11 June 1924, three months ahead of schedule. It had been opened to trains from 17 September 1923 and passengers from 1 October 1923.

 

12 June

Kallang Airport was officially opened on 12 June 1937. Wearne's Air Service started Malaya's first internal air service, linking Singapore with towns in Peninsula Malaysia. Malayan Airway Ltd (MAL) was registered but war intervened before it received any aircraft. (Source: CAAS).

Singapore issued her first series of currency, "the Orchid" series on 12 June 1967.

Singapore’s first professional dance company, the Singapore Dance Theatre (SDT), was set up in 1987 by Goh Soo Khim and Anthony Then. Nonetheless, the company managed to overcome the initial difficulties and presented its well-received debut on 12 June 1988 at the Victoria Theatre, as part of the Singapore Festival of Arts.

 

13 June

Spottiswoode Park Road is named after the merchant Charles Spottiswoode, who lived in this area. Together with John Connolly, he started a merchant firm in 1824 called Spottiswoode and Connoly. After John Connolly died in 1849, the company changed its name to Spottiswoode and Company the same year, with offices in the Change Alley. Charles Spottiswoode died in Singapore on 13 June 1858 and was buried at the Christian cemetery in Fort Canning. His tombstone continues to stand sentinel in the cemetery.

Singapore's 10,000-strong Vigilante Corps celebrated its first birthday on 13 June 1965 with a grand rally and march past at the Jalan Besar Stadium. Some 3,000 of them took in the march past. The Yang di-Pertuan Negara, Tun Yusof bin Ishak, took the salute. The Prime Minister, Mr. Lee Kuan Yew, and the Deputy Premier, Dr. Toh Chin Chye, whose Ministry is responsible for the corps, paid high tribute to them. (Source: The Straits Times, 13 June 1965, Page 4)

On 13 June 1977, the first double-decker buses in Singapore began their service for Service 86. The launching ceremony was held at Tampines Way (today is Hougang Ave 3, near Blk 24 and 25), the first bus leaving the terminal at 11.30am with a handful of passengers on board. Service 86, part of a fleet of seven buses, all Atlantean double-deckers from British Leyland (SBS ordered 400 of them). The guest of honor was Mr Ong Teng Cheong, then Senior Minister of State (Communications), who launched the service.

On 13 June 2008, Singapore’s mobile subscribers will enjoy Full Mobile Number Portability, and with this, greater benefits in terms of flexibility and choice of subscription plans as competition among mobile operators is expected to intensify. Currently, Singapore’s mobile subscription stands at more than 5.8 million. The Full Mobile Number Portability solution will replace the current solution where a mobile subscriber holds two numbers, so that calls to his old number are Call-Forwarded to a new one. Singapore mobile subscribers were one of the first in the world to enjoy mobile number portability through this Call-Forwarding solution when it was launched here in 1997. When implemented from 13 June, Full Mobile Number Portability will allow anyone who wishes to keep their current number when they switch mobile operator, to do so by the next working day. This spares them the hassle of updating their family, friends, and business contacts about a new number.

 

14 June

Completed in 1841, the Insane Hospital was situated at the corner of Bras Basah Road and Bencoolen Street. In spite of the unfortunate death that occurred, due regard was still not given to mental health care. Conditions at the Hospital were not better than had been at Convict Gaol. It was a 30-bed hospital, and the number of lunatics seldom exceeded 30 or 40. The lunatics were taken care of by warders who also guarded the convicts jailed in the adjacent brick structure. Colonel W. J. Butterworth was made Governor of the Settlements on 14 June 1843. On his familiarisation tour of government institutions, he noticed the poor conditions at the Hospital.

After the Singapore Swimming Club at Tanjong Rhu humble beginnings, the Club's membership began picking up. It steadily rose from 65 men in 1894 to 79 in 1895 and then to 116 members in 1899, with S$835 in the Club's coffers. In 1895, the Club decided to allow ladies in on Wednesdays. On 26 January 1895, the first "Aquatic Sports" meet of the Club was held with a reportedly large turn-out. On 14 June 1897, the Club held its inaugural swimming race.

The Mission decided to place the Hakka Christians with the Cantonese in this new church dedicated to the Sacred Heart of Jesus. However, due to some complications, the property was sold and the present one at Tank Road was purchased in 1903. Although a public subscription was started for the building of the main church, the Mission still had to depend on the generosity of Chan Teck Hee to erect the church’s presbytery cum orphanage in 1906. The foundation stone of the church was laid on 14 June 1908, and by 11 September 1910 Sacred Heart Church was completed, blessed and opened.

 

15 June

The Singapore Armed Forces Act came into force on 15 June 1972 to establish the Singapore Armed Forces, thereby unifying the land, air and sea elements.

Bukit Panjang, which is known as Zhenghua for several years before its name was reinstated. Development of the town and advanced earthworks begun on 15 June 1981. HDB flats rose up by 20 May 1985, but only Blocks 1xx and 2xx were built so far.

Oasis LRT Station was opened for service on 15 June 2007.

 

16 June

The Stock Exchange of Singapore Ltd was incorporated on 24 May 1973 and officially opened on 16 June 1973.

On 16 June 2009, The Ministry of Information, Communications and the Arts says it will be enhancing and extending the Wireless@SG programme until March 2013.

Heavy rains caused flooding in Singapore's central shopping district on 16 June 2010 (Wed) and snarled traffic throughout the island. Shopping Malls along Orchard Road like Lucky Plaza, Liat Towers, Tong Building and Delfi Orchard were affected by the flood. The flood had caused some shopping mall and car park basements to be submerged in the water. Rescuers had to pull out about 70 passengers from cars and buses, as flooding shut down Orchard Road, no one was injured. The National Environment Agency (NEA) reported that more than 100 mm of rain fell within a two-hour period of “intense heavy rain”. The Public Utilities Board (PUB), however, attributed the cause of the floods to a blocked culvert – a drain that diverts water.