Week 23: 03 Jun to 09 Jun

3 June

Opened on 3 June 1933, Clifford Pier was once the major landing point for immigrants and sea passengers arriving in Singapore. Although named after Sir Hugh Clifford, Governor of the Straits Settlements (1927-1929), it is more commonly known as the Red Lantern Pier, because red oil lamps were hung at the pier to guide seafarers ashore. Clifford Pier closed in 2006 and has been restored as The Clifford Pier restaurant in The Fullerton Bay Hotel.

The 1958 State of Singapore Constitution or the Singapore (Constitution) Order in Council 1958 laid out the basic government structure for a self-governing Singapore. It replaced the Singapore Colony Order in Council 1955, more popularly known as the Rendel Constitution, which came into force on 8 February 1955. The new constitution vested the Singapore government with full internal governing powers, with the exception of matters pertaining to internal security and defence. Internal self-government for Singapore was achieved as a result of three all-party constitutional talks held in London from 1956 to 1958 between the British Colonial Office and 13 members from the Singapore Legislative Assembly. The 1958 constitution was brought into force by outgoing Governor William Goode on 3 June 1959 by proclamation. With the change, only Singapore citizens had the right to enter the country. Goode was then sworn in as the first Yang di-Pertuan Negara following the proclamation. Lee Kuan Yew, who was then the secretary-general of the People’s Action Party, was subsequently installed as Singapore’s first prime minister on 5 June after leading his party to an overwhelming victory in the Legislative Assembly general election held a few days earlier on 30 May. A celebration was held at the Padang for Singapore gaining full self-government on 3 June 1959.

Raffles Hotel was built in 1899 by the architect Swan & McClaren. Founded by Martin, Tigran & Arshak Sarkies. Guests include Joseph Conrad, Rudyard Kipling, Ava Gardner and Michael Jackson. It is also the home of the Singapore Sling. Raffles Hotel was gazetted as a national monument on 6 March 1987 and was re-gazetted on 3 June 1995.

 

4 June

Bank of India commenced operations in Singapore on 4 June 1951.

The Ministry of Manpower (MOM) was established in April 1998. One of its immediate tasks was to devise a national action plan to build a globally competitive workforce that would power Singapore into the 21st century knowledge economy. The Manpower 21 study effort commenced on 4 June 1998 with the establishment of a steering committee, chaired by then MOM Permanent Secretary Tan Chin Nam, and four subject committees (Manpower Development; Manpower Unlimited; Manpower Industry; and Workplace Environment) that looked into specific areas of manpower planning and development.

Scoot Pte Ltd. is a Singaporean low-cost long-haul airline owned by Singapore Airlines. On 4 June 2012, Scoot began its first flight to Sydney Airport in Australia.

 

5 June

On 5 June 1823, Sir Stamford Raffles founded this first school in Singapore on this site. It was originally known as ”The Institution”. Old site of Raffles Institution is at Raffles City Shopping Centre. The Scheme was to provide for a total education system, beginning at the very elementary, and eventually, leading to the level of scholarship and reseach into the languages and cultures of the region.

The People’s Action Party (PAP) formed the first fully-elected government of Singapore. The first Cabinet of Singapore, was led by Lee Kuan Yew, who was elected as prime minister. It was formed on 5 June 1959, after securing a landslide victory in the 1959 general election.

Singapore Idol first premiered on MediaCorp TV’s Channel 5 on 9 August 2004. Many Singaporeans had called for a local version of American Idol after it was shown on Channel 5 and became a popular hit. Singapore Idol was open to both Singaporeans and foreigners between the ages of 16 and 30 and the grand prize was a platinum recording contract with international label, BMG. In light of the overwhelming response to the first-round of auditions held on 5 June 2004, which saw about 1,000 applicants, the auditions were extended by a day to 6 June. Singapore Idol proved to be a huge success. About 8,000 people turned up to watch the finals of the first season held at the Singapore Indoor Stadium on 1 December 2004. Over 1.1 million votes were cast, with Taufik Batisah dominating 62 percent of the votes, beating Sylvester Sim to be crowned the first Singapore Idol.

 

6 June

The Cathedral of the Good Shepherd, stands at the junction of Queen Street and Bras Basah Road. It is the earliest Catholic church in Singapore and is today the seat of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese and Archbishop. In February 1843, a dynamic French priest, Rev. Fr. Jean-Marie Beurel managed to convince the colonial government to provide the Catholic Mission with a plot of land diagonally opposite, at the corner of Queen Street and Bras Basah Road. Father Beurel who had helped set up the early classes at the Convent of the Holy Infant Jesus, was also instrumental in establishing this, the earliest Catholic Church. He blessed the church on 6 June 1846. The foundation stone for the Cathedral was laid on 18 June 1843 and construction was completed by 1847.

Mount Sophia was originally named Bukit Seligi or Seligi Hill. Mount Sophia was one of the earliest middle-class residential districts. It was home to prominent businessman Eu Tong Sen and others were listed as the hills residents in 1842. In the early 1880s, the hill boasted of grand houses. On 6 June 1885, the Children's Home opened in Sophia Road.

For about a week in early June 1990, Singaporeans were captivated by media reports of runaway elephants on Pulau Tekong. This was the first time that elephants had been known to swim across the Johor Straits onto Tekong in recent history. The island is used by the Singapore Armed Forces for military training. The relevant Malaysian wildlife authorities arrived on Tekong island on 6 June 1990 under police escort. This was because they had brought with them their lorries and trained or monitor elephants to help in the relocation process. With the collaboration and co-operation of the Singapore and Malaysian governments, the Singapore Zoo and Malaysian wildlife authorities and the Tekong army personnel, the bull elephants were captured on 7 June 1990.

The new Sentosa Fire Station – the Singapore Civil Defence Force's (SCDF) 21st fire station – located at 37 Artillery Avenue started operations at 8am on Monday morning 6 June 2016.

 

7 June

On 7 June 1823, John Crawfurd signed a second treaty with the Sultan and Temenggong, which extended British possession to most of the island. The Sultan and Temenggong traded most of their administrative rights of the island, including the collection of port taxes for lifelong monthly payments of $1500 and $800 respectively. This agreement brought the island under the British Law, with the provision that it would take into account Malay customs, traditions and religion. Raffles replaced Farquhar with John Crawfurd, an efficient and frugal administrator, as the new governor. In October 1823, Raffles departed for Britain and would never return to Singapore as he died in 1826, at the age of 44. In 1824, Singapore was ceded in perpetuity to the East India Company by the Sultan.

The Singapore Badminton Hall was officially opened on 7 June 1952 by then governor of Singapore, J. F. Nicoll. Located on Guillemard Road, the hall was originally built to host the 1952 Thomas Cup, a premier international badminton competition, but the games were eventually held at the Happy World Stadium. Recognised as a historical site by the National Heritage Board on 1 September 1999, it was relinquished to the government after its land lease expired in January 2008, and reopened as Guillemard Village in 2009.

The Singapore Zooogical Gardens continued to thrill its visitors with the opening of the brand new Elephants of Asia Exhibit with support from the STB on 7 June 2003.

 

8 June

On 8 June 1891, the members of the Sporting Club met at the pavilion of the Cricket Club and formally created the Singapore Golf Club and elected Mr. Justice Goldney as president. Entrance fee to the club was fixed at $2 and the subscription at $6 per annum.

The Cold Storage Company Ltd was established on 8 June 1903 and became the earliest supermarket in Singapore. It pioneered the processing and distribution of hygienic food supplies in Malaya. It opened its first retail operation on 24 March 1905 at Orchard road with frozen meats, poultry and dairy products delivered from Queensland, Australia to Singapore.

Odeon (奥迪安戏院) was Cathay Organisation's flagship cinema, 1,500-seat at 331 North Bridge Road, and its most successful box-office earner in Singapore. Designed by architectural firm Palmer and Turner, it was built in 1953 at the junction of North Bridge Road and Cashin Street, where Odeon Tower and K H Kea Building are now located. On 8 June 1953, Odeon was officially opened by Commissioner-General for Southeast Asia Malcolm MacDonald at the charity premier screening of The Snows of Kilimanjaro starring Greogry Peck, Susan Hayward and Ava Gardner. Odeon was sold to United Overseas Land in 1984, and the building was later demolished to make way for new developments.

Parkway Group Healthcare's corporate history states that Gleneagles Hospital had its beginnings as a 45-bed private nursing home known as Gleneagles Nursing Home which was later incorporated as a private company called Gleneagles Hospital Limited on 16 January 1958. The building which housed the hospital at Napier Road was originally a hotel called Gleneagles Hotel. Situated opposite the Singapore Botanical Gardens, the hotel had large open lounges, tastefully decorated rooms and suites, and offered excellent cuisine. After it was bought over by the hospital, the building's interiors were converted to suit a hospital's requirements. The new hospital opened to the public on 8 June 1959. Between 1979 and 1980, the building was expanded to become a 126-bed medical centre. In May 1987, Parkway Holdings bought Gleneagles Hospital for S$46 million.

 

9 June

Stamford Raffles landed in Singapore to establish a trading factory. In all, he came to the island three times. On his last visit, he left Singapore on 9 June 1823. Raffles departed Singapore with tears in his eyes, sent on his way by ‘hundreds’.

The official opening of BRMC Church Sanctuary (Barker Road Methodist Church) was on 9 June 1963 by Bishop H Amstutz. The church dedication was conducted by Bishop Robert F Lundy on 31 October 1965. Bishop Lundy was the pastor of BRMC between January and August 1964. The dedication was also a celebration of the clearing of the entire Church Building debt.

Mobile Library Services were initiated by the National Library Board in 1960. This was mainly to ease the overwhelming demands made on its services at the main library building in Stamford Road whilst continuing to provide library services to more people. MacPherson service point was closed on 9 June 1988.