Week 16: 15 Apr to 21 Apr

15 April

The Singapore Turf Club moved to its new premises after the Bukit Timah RaceCourse costing $3 million was opened by the governor of Singapore, Sir Cecil Clementi on 15 April 1933.

After the Japanese surrender in September 1945, the British Military Administration immediately took over. The General Hospital and the Mental Hospital had been requisitioned for military patients and therefore, other temporary arrangements had to be sought. The female section of the Mental Hospital became the Royal Air Force Hospital while the male section was converted into the Japanese Prisoners-of-War Hospital. From March 1946, the Japanese and British troops were gradually evacuated from the hospital. The Mental Hospital was re-opened on 15 April 1946 but only three wards were then available for civil patients. The Mental Hospital emerged from the occupation badly in need of physical reconstruction and the first task then, was to rapidly restore the hospital. The spirit of self-awakening dawned on the staff and it was difficult times like these that led the mental health workers to find their sense of resilience.

Then Minister for Culture, S. Dhanabalan, declared the orchid hybrid Vanda Miss Joaquim as Singapore’s national flower on 15 April 1981.

Established on 15 April 1988, Bukit Batok Driving Centre was officially opened on 6 April 1990 by Professor Jayakumar.

Official opening of the Singpaore Flyer on 15 April 2008.

 

16 April

Chongfu School, formerly known as Chong Hock Girls’ School, was founded on 16 April 1915 by Mr Wang Huiyi, a Supervisor of Schools with the Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuah (SHHK). It was the only school for girls at that time and was situated at Chongwen Ge beside the Thian Hock Keng Temple at Telok Ayer Street. At that time, there was only an enrolment of about 30 female students and lessons were conducted by Madam Lin Suqin, the Principal herself, in Hokkien.

The first air mail from London arrived at Seletar on 16 April 1931, on the Imperial Airways mail carrier City of Cairo.

Initially known as the Ministry of Communications which was first set up on 16 April 1968, since then, had three name changes that correspond with an expansion in its roles and responsibilities - Ministry of Transport.

Construction of Resorts World Sentosa Singapore began on 16 April 2007 on the demolished plot of Imbiah Lookout.

 

17 April

Sungei Buloh Nature Park was officially opened on 6 December 1993, this 87-hectare of mangrove, fresh water ponds and secondary forest was designated a forest reserve from as early as 17 April 1890. The fresh water and secondary forest habitats may have been subsequently introduced by early settlers in the Sungei Buloh (which means Bamboo River in the Malay language) area since the Straits Settlement Government Gazette Reports of the Botanic Gardens described the area to consist entirely of mangrove swamp in 1890.

Singapore Children's Society was founded on 17 April 1952 by a group of civic-minded citizens.

Stages 1 and 2 of the Circle MRT Line opened on 17 April 2010.

Jewel Changi Airport officially opens doors on 17 April 2019.

 

18 April

Read Bridge, beam structured bridge, located in the Singapore River Area. It was opened by Governor Clementi Smith officially in 1889, and it was named in honour of political and social activist, and merchant William H. Read, who laid the first cylinder for the bridge in 1887. The bridge was opened by the Governor Cecil Clementi Smith on 18 April 1889 and named in honour of the politically and socially active merchant, William H. Read. Read Bridge replaced an earlier bridge, Merchant Bridge which was designed by Captain Faber of Madras Engineers and had been built in the 1880s, to allow for tongkangs (bum-boats) to pass under it. It is also sometimes called the Green Bridge because of its colour.

Wee Chong Jin was the first Singaporean and Asian to head Singapores Supreme Court Judiciary when he was appointed Chief Justice in 1963. As Chief Justice, until he retired in 1990, he held the record for being the longest serving Chief Justice in the Commonwealth. A man of many achievements, he was conferred the honorary doctorate in civil law from Oxford University in 1987. On 18 April 1992, he was conferred Honorary Member and Fellow for life, Singapore Academy of Law. Wee Chong Jin passed away on 5 June 2005 due to complications arising from a year of battling lung cancer.

On 18 April 2005, the Singapore government approves the plan to legalise casino-gambling and build two integrated Resorts in Marina South and Sentosa.

The doors of Singapore's first natural museum, Lee Kong Chian Natural History Museum, officially opened on Saturday, 18 April 2015. The museum showcases centuries-old exhibits from a unique collection.

 

19 April

Slim 10 is a Chinese Proprietary Medicine which has been withdrawn from the market since 19 April 2002 following reports of suspected adverse drug reactions which surfaced during the period between March 2002 and April 2002. Investigations by HSA so far have confirmed that the product was adulterated with nicotinamide and fenfluramine.

Construction of the Universal Studios Singapore theme park and the rest of the resort, Resorts World Sentosa, started on 19 April 2007.

Bieber Fever is about to hit Singapore! LAMC Productions is proud to announce that Multi-platinum singing sensation Justin Bieber brings his “My World” tour to the Singapore Indoor Stadium on 19 April 2011.

 

20 April

The Race Course (Farrer Park), meant for golf and horse racing, was the only available landing ground in Singapore then until the construction of Seletar Airport. The Race Course also witnessed the arrival of the British Royal Air Force for the first time on 20 April 1924.

The Straits Settlements Royal Naval Volunteer Reserve (SSRNVR) was established in Singapore on 20 April 1934.

Singapore Flying College Pte Ltd, established in 20 April 1988, is a wholly owned subsidiary of Singapore Airlines. The College is an approved Flight Training Organisation by the Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore (CAAS).

Following the announcement by Minister Mah Bow Tan, on the gazettement of Sungei Buloh, the reserve is given a new lease of life. As of 20 April 2002, thier new name is Sungei Buloh Wetland Reserve.

Pasir Panjang Wholesale Market (PPWM) was closed on 20 April 2003 for a period of 10 days due to SARS. It has been decided that the closure of PPWM will be extended for another five days till Sunday 4 May. During this period, nurses will visit those on home quarantine orders to check that they and their family members have no fever and other symptoms. This is an extra precaution to ensure that all those involved are well when the quarantine is lifted. This cautious approach is necessary because of the large number of people involved.

On 20 April 2004, a catastrophic cut and cover tunnel collapse occurred along a section of Nicoll Highway, where the new Circle MRT line was under construction. 4 workers were killed.

 

21 April

UCO Bank started their Singapore operations on 21 April 1951 and Singapore centre has celebrated its Golden Anniversary Year of the Bank's presence in Singapore in 2001. UCO Bank is a Full Licence Bank having two branches in Singapore. They are the only bank from India, who have more than one branch here. The branches are located at 3 Raffles Place and at 84 & 86 Serangoon Road.

In September 1980, Mr Sim Hock Hye took over as the principal of Temasek Secondary School. On 21 April 1982, Temasek Secondary School was officially opened by Mr Phua Bah Lee, then Senior Parliamentary Secretary (Defence) and MP for Tampines. In the following year - Nov 1983, the pioneer batch of Temasek students graduated, and the school has not looked back since.

On 21 April 2010, a storeroom on the fifth floor of the People's Park Complex caught fire, resulting in a huge blaze and with hunted corners and triggering a massive evacuation. No-one was hurt in the incident, but substantial damage was reported by tenants caused by soot and water leakage. The Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) subsequently found that the presence of such storerooms on that floor were not authorized; in breach of fire safety regulations.